Christmas tree farm guide

Christmas tree farms in Alabama.

From Albertville and Tuscumbia in the north to Troy, Summerdale and Bay Minette in the south, these thirteen Alabama farm guides explain which trees each farm grows, whether it posts a price, what it handles for you and when its season starts. Leyland and Murray cypress, Carolina Sapphire and Virginia pine lead the fields, most farms let you choose and cut, and several also sell Fraser fir.

Pick a region and a tree

Two farms sit in the north, Shell’s in Tuscumbia and Frazier in Albertville. Eight are in the middle of the state: Church Farm in Pell City, Beavers in Trafford, Neely Farms in Thorsby, Wilderwood in Ralph, Murphy’s in Tuscaloosa (with a second farm in Northport), Cole’s in Woodland, Gilbert in Lanett and Wadsworth in Wetumpka. Spring Creek in Troy, Fish River in Summerdale and Southern Hollow in Bay Minette are in the south. Leyland cypress is grown at twelve of the thirteen (Church Farm sells Murray cypress only), Murray cypress at seven, Virginia pine at seven and Carolina Sapphire at seven, with Blue Ice at four. Seven farms name Fraser fir, Neely Farms lists unnamed fresh-cut firs, and Fish River also lists Noble fir.

Compare the whole price

Ten farms post some tree price and three do not. Per-foot rates start at $9 for Murphy’s Leyland cypress and $10 at Beavers, and run $10 to $12 at Spring Creek, $12 to $15 at Wadsworth, $12 to $15 on Southern Hollow’s sheet (printed as “$12 ft.”), and $8 to $15 for Gilbert’s Leyland. Fish River, Cole’s and Gilbert publish height or field price lists, from $26 at 3 feet at Fish River to $325 for Gilbert’s largest Fraser fir. Church Farm gives only a starting price of $55, and Neely Farms $25 for pine and cypress and $80 for firs. Frazier, Shell’s and Wilderwood publish no tree price at all: Wilderwood charges a $5 admission credited toward a tree, and Shell’s takes a $10 deposit to tag early. Ask for the price before you cut.

Ask what the farm handles

Shell’s cuts, shakes, drills, nets and loads your tree. Beavers shakes, nets and loads, Church Farm shakes, nets and ties your tree on, and Frazier shakes and wraps it free and helps with cutting and loading. Neely Farms shakes, drills and nets trees, and Cole’s provides saws or cuts for you and bales for free. Southern Hollow cuts the tree you choose, and Murphy’s most recent price sheet lists a $25 delivery. Fish River, Spring Creek, Wadsworth and Wilderwood publish nothing about shaking, netting or loading. Payment is not uniform either: Beavers takes cash or check only, Spring Creek takes cash and Venmo with a card fee, and Wadsworth adds a $3 fee on card payments.

Time the season

Shell’s opens early tagging weekends on November 7. Fish River, Beavers, Spring Creek, Cole’s, Wadsworth, Gilbert and Church Farm start on Saturday, November 21, and Neely Farms, Frazier, Wilderwood and Murphy’s on Friday, November 27, with Southern Hollow’s official opening on Saturday, November 28. Beavers lists eight selling days ending December 12, Church Farm lists nine days ending December 13, Gilbert projects a December 13 close, Shell’s ends December 14 and Fish River December 20. Most others publish no closing date, Frazier says trees usually sell out by the second weekend, and Cole’s has not posted this season’s hours, so call before a long drive.

Alabama tree farms

13 farms listed

Two children with a wheeled tree cart under the wreath-hung sales pavilion at Fish River Trees in Summerdale, Alabama

Summerdale · Alabama

Fish River Trees

Choose-and-cut trees priced by height, from $26 at 3 feet to $190 at 13 feet, plus container-grown, pre-cut Fraser and Noble and flocked trees, wreaths, and weekend Santa, a tree train and rides. Open daily from November 21 to December 20.

Tree options: Cut your own & Pre-cut & Living trees

Choose-and-cut tree, by height
$26–$190
Tree season
Saturday, November 21 – Sunday, December 20; closed Thanksgiving Day
Visit hours
Daily, 8am–5pm

One height-based list covers every choose-and-cut variety: $26 at 3 feet, $75 at 7 feet, $104 at 9 feet, $124 at 10 feet and $190 at 13 feet. Trees are tagged in the field with size and price. The farm states no tax rule.

View farm details
Rows of Christmas trees on the hillside at Beavers Christmas Tree Farm in Trafford, Alabama, with a utility vehicle and trailer at the parking area

Trafford · Alabama

Beavers Christmas Tree Farm

Choose-and-cut Alabama-grown Virginia pine, white pine, Carolina Sapphire and Leyland cypress at $10 per foot, shaken, netted and loaded by staff. Open on eight listed days from November 21 to December 12, 9am until dark. Cash or checks only.

Tree options: Cut your own

Choose-and-cut Alabama-grown tree
$10 per foot
Tree season
Eight selling days, November 21 – December 12; the last day is Saturday, December 12
Visit hours
9am until dark on the listed days

Virginia pine, white pine, Carolina Sapphire and Leyland cypress are $10 per foot, tagged by size and quality. Blue Ice is priced at the farm. The farm publishes no height range, minimum or tax statement.

View farm details
Rows of young cypress Christmas trees below the farmhouse at Spring Creek Farm in Troy, Alabama

Troy · Alabama

Spring Creek Farm

Choose-and-cut cypress at $10 per foot to 9 feet and $12 per foot from 10 feet, with hand saws, handmade wreaths and a Christmas shop. Opens Saturday, November 21 (9am–2pm); then Monday–Saturday 9am to dark, Sunday noon to dark.

Tree options: Cut your own

Choose-and-cut cypress, by height
From $10 per foot
Tree season
Opens Saturday, November 21; closing date not published; closed Thanksgiving Day
Visit hours
Monday–Saturday 9am to dark; Sunday noon to dark

Starting at $10 per foot for trees up to 9 feet, and $12 per foot for trees 10 feet and taller. The farm publishes no per-height table, sample total or tax statement.

View farm details
Rows of young Christmas trees on the hillside at Neely Farms Christmas Trees in Thorsby, Alabama

Thorsby · Alabama

Neely Farms Christmas Trees

Choose-and-cut Virginia pine and Leyland cypress from $25 and fresh-cut firs from $80, shaken, drilled and netted for you. Gift shop, wreaths and complimentary cocoa or spiced tea. No admission fee. Opens Friday, November 27.

Tree options: Cut your own & Pre-cut

Choose-and-cut trees and fresh-cut firs
From $25
Tree season
Opens Friday, November 27; closing date not published
Visit hours
Friday and Saturday 8am–5pm; Sunday 1pm–5pm; Wednesday and Thursday 3pm–5pm

Virginia pine and Leyland cypress, $25 and up; fresh-cut firs, $80 and up. The farm publishes no sizes or per-height prices, and says all trees carry a price tag: no tag, no sale.

View farm details
Rows of Leyland cypress Christmas trees in the field at Cole’s Christmas Tree Farm in Woodland, Alabama

Woodland · Alabama

Cole's Christmas Tree Farm

Choose-and-cut Leyland cypress, Murray cypress, Carolina Sapphire and Virginia pine priced by height, from $45 under 8 feet to $125 at 16 feet and up, plus fresh-cut Fraser fir from $60. Hayrides, cocoa and coffee. Opens Saturday, November 21, per the farm’s Facebook page.

Tree options: Cut your own & Pre-cut

Choose-and-cut trees, priced by height
$45–$125
Tree season
Opens Saturday, November 21; hours and closing date for this season not published
Visit hours
This season’s hours are not published. The farm’s website shows its most recent published schedule: Friday 12pm–5pm, Saturday 8am–5pm, Sunday 12pm–5pm, Black Friday 8am–5pm

One price table covers Leyland cypress, Murray cypress, Carolina Sapphire and Virginia pine, from $45 under 8 feet to $125 at 16 feet and up. The farm states that its trees are priced based on height. Pre-cut Fraser fir of 5–10 feet starts at $60.

View farm details
Rows of Arizona cypress Christmas trees along a grass lane at Wadsworth Christmas Tree Farm in Wetumpka, Alabama

Wetumpka · Alabama

Wadsworth Christmas Tree Farm

Choose-and-cut Leyland, Murray and Arizona cypress, Eastern redcedar and Virginia pine at $12 a foot up to 9½ feet and $15 a foot from 10 feet, plus pre-cut Fraser fir, live container trees and wreaths. Open daily 9am–5pm from Saturday, November 21; closed Thanksgiving Day.

Tree options: Cut your own & Pre-cut & Living trees

Choose-and-cut trees, priced by the foot
$12 a foot
Tree season
Opens Saturday, November 21; closing date to be determined
Visit hours
Daily 9am–5pm; closed Thanksgiving Day, November 26

$12 a foot for trees up to 9½ feet tall and $15 a foot for trees 10 feet and taller. The farm says all prices are subject to change without notice. Pre-cut Fraser firs are priced by height, from an average of $95 at 6–7 feet.

View farm details
Rows of cypress Christmas trees on a grass lane at Frazier Christmas Tree Farm in Albertville, Alabama

Albertville · Alabama

Frazier Christmas Tree Farm

Pick a cypress or white pine tree with the family; the farm helps cut it, shakes and wraps it for you, and loads it. Open Friday, November 27, and a few days after, until trees sell out, or by appointment. Tree prices are not published; confirm at the farm.

Tree options: Cut your own

Choose-and-cut trees
Not published
Tree season
Opens Friday, November 27; trees usually sell out by the second weekend
Visit hours
Friday and Saturday 9am–5pm; Sunday 1pm–5pm; until trees sell out

The farm publishes no tree price, size range or price list. Tree shaking and wrapping are complimentary.

View farm details
A grass aisle between rows of blue-grey Carolina Sapphire Christmas trees at Gilbert Christmas Tree Farm in Lanett, Alabama

Lanett · Alabama

Gilbert Christmas Tree Farm

Choose-and-cut Leyland and Murray cypress, Carolina Sapphire at $12 a foot and Virginia pine at $45 to $85, plus fresh Fraser fir at $108 to $325. Open Saturday, November 21, to a projected close on Sunday, December 13, on Eastern Time. Gift shop and restrooms.

Tree options: Cut your own & Pre-cut

Trees sold by the foot or by the field
Leyland $8–$15 a foot
Tree season
Opens Saturday, November 21; projected close Sunday, December 13
Visit hours
Friday 1pm–6pm; Saturday 9am–6pm; Sunday 12pm–6pm; Black Friday 9am–6pm (Eastern Time)

Leyland cypress $8.00 to $15.00 per foot (the farm words it “for trees above 12 ft”), Carolina Sapphire $12 per foot, Virginia pine $45 to $85 depending on the field, Fraser fir $108 to $325. The farm says its prices are the same as last year.

View farm details
Rows of Murray Cypress Christmas trees on a grassy hillside at Church Farm in Pell City, Alabama

Pell City · Alabama

Church Farm Christmas Trees

Choose a Murray cypress from hundreds, up to 12 feet tall, and cut it yourself with a farm handsaw; the team will help cut, shake, net and tie it on. Trees start at $55 and cost more as they get larger. Open on nine listed days (Saturdays, Sundays and Friday, November 27) from November 21 to December 13.

Tree options: Cut your own

Choose-and-cut Murray cypress, priced by size
From $55
Tree season
Opens Saturday, November 21; last listed day Sunday, December 13
Visit hours
Friday and Saturday 9am–5pm; Sunday 12pm–5pm; on the nine listed days only

Trees start at $55 and cost more as they get larger; the farm has trees up to 12 feet. The farm publishes no price ladder, per-foot rate or tax statement, so confirm other prices at the farm.

View farm details
A family walks hand in hand between rows of Leyland Cypress Christmas trees at Wilderwood Farm in Ralph, Alabama

Ralph · Alabama

Wilderwood Farm

Choose and cut a farm-grown Leyland cypress, or pick a pre-cut Fraser fir, with fresh wreaths, a gift shop, farm animals, a bouncy house and play area. Admission is $5, credited in full toward a tree; tree prices are not published. Opens Friday, November 27, with Santa on opening weekend.

Tree options: Cut your own & Pre-cut

Admission with credit toward a tree
$5 admission
Tree season
Opens Friday, November 27; weekends while supplies last; closing date not published
Visit hours
Friday and Saturday of opening weekend 9am–5pm; Saturdays 9am–5pm; Sundays 1pm–5pm

Admission is $5, with full credit given toward the purchase of a tree. Tree and wreath prices are not published; confirm at the farm.

View farm details
A Blue Ice cypress Christmas tree growing in the field at Shell’s Christmas Tree Farm in Tuscumbia, Alabama

Tuscumbia · Alabama

Shell's Christmas Tree Farm

Tag a farm-grown Leyland cypress, Carolina Sapphire, Virginia pine or Blue Ice cypress and the farm cuts, shakes, drills, nets and loads it; imported Fraser fir is also named. Early tagging weekends start November 7 with a $10 deposit; cutting runs daily from November 21. Tree prices are not published; confirm at the farm.

Tree options: Cut your own & Choose a tree; staff cuts & Pre-cut

Choose-and-cut trees
Not published
Tree season
Early tagging weekends from Saturday, November 7; cutting daily from Saturday, November 21; season ends December 14
Visit hours
Monday–Friday 3pm–5pm; Saturday 9am–5pm; Sunday 1pm–5pm; closed Thanksgiving Day

The farm’s pages list no tree, wreath, garland or stand price. The only published figure is a $10 deposit to pre-tag a tree. The photography day pass has its own booking page.

View farm details
The entrance sign and red sleigh at Southern Hollow Tree Farm in Bay Minette, Alabama

Bay Minette · Alabama

Southern Hollow Tree Farm

Choose-and-cut cypress, cut by the farm, at $12 to $15 per foot depending on height, plus wreaths at $37 to $65. Official opening day is Saturday, November 28; daily hours and a closing date are not stated in the farm’s posts.

Tree options: Choose a tree; staff cuts

Choose-and-cut cypress, priced by the foot
$12–$15 per foot
Tree season
Official opening day Saturday, November 28; closing date not stated in the farm’s posts
Visit hours
Daily hours not stated in the farm’s posts; confirm with the farm

The rate rises with height: $12 for 5 to 8 feet, $13 for 8½ to 10 feet, $14 for 10½ to 12 feet and $15 for 12½ feet and above. For smaller or larger trees the farm asks you to call. Wreaths are $37 to $65.

View farm details
Rows of cypress Christmas trees in a misty field at Murphy’s Christmas Tree Farm in Tuscaloosa County, Alabama

Tuscaloosa · Alabama

Murphy's Christmas Tree Farm

Pick out a Leyland cypress in the field at $9 per foot, sizes 4 to 11 feet, or buy a pre-cut Fraser fir at $90 to $145, last named as sold at the Bear Creek farm only. Opens the day after Thanksgiving; weekdays from 3:30pm, Saturday from 10am, Sunday from 1pm, each until dark.

Tree options: Pre-cut

Leyland cypress by the foot and pre-cut Fraser fir by height
Leyland cypress $9 a foot
Tree season
Opens the day after Thanksgiving, Friday, November 27; closing date not published
Visit hours
Monday–Friday 3:30pm–dark; Saturday 10am–dark; Sunday 1pm–dark (both farms)

Leyland cypress is $9 per foot in sizes 4 to 11 feet at both farms. Pre-cut Fraser fir is $90 to $145 by height, 6 to 10 feet; the farm last said it is sold only at the Bear Creek farm. Carolina Sapphire, wreath and delivery prices below are from the most recent published price sheet.

View farm details

Analytics

Analytics is off until your choice is ready.

Analytics is on by default. Your choice is remembered for up to six months.

Turning it off clears pending events across this site's tabs. Events already sent cannot be recalled. Turning it back on starts a fresh journey.

What analytics records

Owner QA

Analytics is paused while this setting is open.