Cape Elizabeth · Maine
Old Farm Christmas Place
A balsam fir farm on the historic Dyer-Hutchinson property in Cape Elizabeth, where you tag a tree, cut your own or take a pre-cut, ride a wagon to the fields on weekends, and warm up by the fire with cocoa and cider at no charge.

At a glance
Your tree visit.
- Tree choices
- Cut your own · Pre-cut trees
- Tagged balsam fir by size
- $40–$146
Four tagged sizes, all balsam fir; the farm prints two figures per size and labels both tax included. Pre-cut trees are not priced separately.
Prices & conditions ↓ - Visit times
November 13 to December 19, 9:30am–4pm, closed Mondays and Thanksgiving Day. Tagging only November 13–20; cutting from November 21.
Full schedule ↓
Find your tree
Choose your Christmas tree.
Every tree here is balsam fir, planted as bare-root transplants and hand pruned, then harvested in the seventh, eighth and ninth years after transplanting on a nine-year rotation. You can choose from thousands of trees, in four sizes marked by tag color: jumbo (gold), standard (white), apartment (blue) and table top (red).
The farm sells trees three ways: choose and tag, choose and cut, and pre-cut. Because trees are cut field by field on the rotation, you cut only in the areas ready for harvest, and any unsold tree there is yours to take. The farm says fresh pre-cut trees are always available after Thanksgiving, and offers them to anyone short of time. The farm lists no separate price or sizes for pre-cut trees.
A wagon takes you to and from the top of the fields, and helpers are there to assist, though it can get busy. The farm will also shorten a tree that is too tall if you find a shape you love.
Published varieties
- Balsam fir
Which variety suits your decorations?
General tree guidance; the farm’s selection, sizes and services are described above.
- Balsam fir
- A notably fragrant choice with soft needles.
Learn more: University of Wisconsin Extension ↗ · National Christmas Tree Association ↗
Compare the options
Trees & prices.
The farm does not state how it takes payment for trees on its tree pages. All sales are final, though the farm stands behind its trees 100 percent for any abnormal problem.
| Selection & size | Price |
|---|---|
| Jumbo, 9 feet and up (gold tag) | $146 Printed as $138.39 / $146; the farm labels both tax included. |
| Standard, 7 to 9 feet (white tag) | $110 Printed as $104.27 / $110; the farm labels both tax included. |
| Apartment, 5 to 7 feet (blue tag) | $72 Printed as $68.95 / $72; the farm labels both tax included. |
| Table top (red tag) | $40 Printed as $37.92 / $40; the farm labels both tax included. |
| Pre-tagging fee | $20 The farm lists no fee for cut-and-carry. |
| Cut and hold at the store for pickup | $15 A service fee; give a day’s notice. The farm provides it as time permits, and it may be unavailable on a busy weekend day. |
| Refreshments and amenities | No charge The farm says there is no charge for refreshments and amenities, and asks that you not tip. |
Tagging, cutting and the two-part tag
Trees available to buy carry a two-part tag. To reserve a tree, tear off the bottom half and pay; to cut it yourself, cut the tree and bring the half to checkout. The receipt carries the tag number used to pick up the tree. Half-tagged or untagged trees have been sold or are not available, so check the tag number against your receipt before you leave.
After you cut, move the tree to the loading area if you plan to ride the wagon, bring the lower tag half to checkout, then use the shaker and baler area or collect the tree when it comes down on the wagon. The farm does not state a charge for the shaker and baler. If a mix-up occurs, the farm tries to contact the first purchaser.
Sizes and prices
For each size the farm prints two figures, such as $138.39 / $146, and labels both tax included without explaining the pair. The headline prices on this page use the higher figure.
| Size | Tag color | Price as printed, tax included |
|---|---|---|
| Jumbo, 9 feet and up | Gold | $138.39 / $146 |
| Standard, 7 to 9 feet | White | $104.27 / $110 |
| Apartment, 5 to 7 feet | Blue | $68.95 / $72 |
| Table top | Red | $37.92 / $40 |
Fees and policies
The farm lists a pre-tagging fee and a cut-and-hold service. Pre-cut trees, shaker and baler use, and payment methods for trees have no published price or detail; ask at the farm. All sales are final.
| Item | Amount | Condition |
|---|---|---|
| Pre-tagging | $20 | The farm lists no fee for cut-and-carry. |
| Cut and hold at the store for pickup | $15 service fee | Give a day’s notice. Provided as time permits and may be unavailable on a busy weekend day. |
| Refreshments and amenities | No charge | The farm asks that you not tip. |
Weekends: wagon rides, cocoa, cider and the fire
On weekends the farm runs wagon rides to the fields, serves hot cocoa and cider, keeps a warming fire going, and offers marshmallow toasting. The farm says there is no charge for refreshments and amenities. All of these activities depend on weather and field suitability, and the farm does not date the first weekend of the extras.
The farm suggests allowing an hour for a weekend visit; a weekday visit or a pre-cut tree is quicker. The fields are blustery at the top, so dress warmly, and bring enough help to move the tree.
Custom wreaths and the post-and-beam shop
The farm makes custom wreaths in its post-and-beam retail shop. A decorated wreath includes ribbon and three embellishments. The shop also carries unique decorations and Christmas gifts from local craftspeople; the farm does not post prices for those.
| Size | Decorated | Undecorated |
|---|---|---|
| 15 inches | $25 | $18 |
| 20 inches | $35 | $28 |
| 24 inches | $43 | $33 |
| 32 inches | $69 | $50 |
| 48 inches | $110 | $100 |
| 60 inches | $165 | $155 |
Dogs, parking and what to wear
Well-behaved, leashed dogs are welcome; please pick up after yours. Service animals only are allowed inside the store. The farm’s photography page tells photographers and their clients to park in the designated lot on the north side and says the private driveway on the south side is off limits; it also says the fields are several hundred feet from the lot, with a small bridge on the path. It gives no separate parking rule for other visitors.
The farm does not describe restrooms for the season or give accessibility details; ask at the farm.
Photography
Session photography is a separate pre-season booking made by email, and it closes once the sales season opens. The farm’s photography page lists rates and booking dates from the previous season, so ask for current ones.
During the season the farm allows candid photos only of patrons who buy a tree. Photograph only in the tree fields or on the path after the small bridge, not at the house, barn, parking area or outbuildings, and keep people and dogs out of fields with trees under 4 feet.
The Dyer-Hutchinson farm
The Cox family bought this historic Dyer-Hutchinson farm, which is listed on the National Register of Historic Places, and planted its Christmas trees there. The land has been farmed almost continuously since the late 1700s. The proprietor, Jay Cox, handles tree questions and complaints directly.
Contacts and live tree count
For visit questions, tree concerns and photography bookings, write to info@oldfarmchristmas.com, or call the farm at 207-799-0096. The farm posts its live tree count and updates on its Facebook page.
Pick your day
Dates & hours.
Tree season: November 13 to December 19; tagging only November 13–20, cutting from November 21
The season runs from Friday, November 13 to Saturday, December 19. In the first week you can tag a tree only, and cutting starts on Saturday, November 21 while tagging continues. The farm’s home page gives these dates; its contact page also says tagging, cutting and refreshments all begin the day after Thanksgiving, which conflicts with those dates, so confirm them if you plan to come in the first weeks. The farm is closed on Mondays and on Thanksgiving Day, and says all tree cutting and field access is subject to weather conditions and field suitability.
| Christmas season | Hours |
|---|---|
| Friday, November 13 to Friday, November 20 | Tagging only, 9:30am–4pm |
| From Saturday, November 21 to Saturday, December 19 | Cutting starts; remaining tagging continues; 9:30am–4pm |
| Mondays | Closed |
| Thanksgiving Day, Thursday, November 26 | Closed |
| Weekends | Wagon rides, hot cocoa and cider, a warming fire and marshmallow toasting; the farm does not date the first weekend of these extras |
| Every open day | Fields close at 4pm; the farm’s hints page says to arrive before 4pm |
The farm’s hints page says activities and field access depend on weather and field suitability. Live tree availability is posted on the farm’s Facebook page.
Before you go.
- Each size shows two printed figures; the higher one is the headline price.
- The farm is closed on Mondays and Thanksgiving Day, and fields close at 4pm.
- Tagging only for the first week; cutting from November 21.
- Leashed dogs are welcome in the fields; only service animals are allowed in the store.
- Check the tag number against your receipt, and note that all sales are final.
- The farm’s email is info@oldfarmchristmas.com.
1148 Sawyer Road, Cape Elizabeth, ME 04107
Keep exploring
Other farms to compare.
Raymond, Maine
Balsam Ridge Christmas Tree FarmChoose-and-cut balsam, Fraser and hybrid trees through 8 feet for $82 plus Maine sales tax, plus pre-cut trees, wreaths and a maple sugarhouse gift shop in Raymond. Opens November 21.
Fryeburg, Maine
Weston’s Farm & MarketChoose-and-cut Fraser and balsam trees in a field an eighth of a mile from the Fryeburg market, with pre-cut trees, wreaths and a barn gift shop. Fields open November 21.
Scarborough, Maine
Beech Ridge FarmBalsam fir at one price for any size, $85.31 plus tax, choose-and-cut in the field or pre-cut in the barn, with wreaths. Open one weekend only, November 27–29.