Christmas tree farm guide · Maine

Christmas tree farms in Dayton & nearby.

1 farm in Dayton4 nearby options within 25 miles

In Dayton

1 farm listed

Aerial view of rows of fir Christmas trees and farm paths at Boiling Spring Tree Farm in Dayton, Maine

Dayton · Maine

Boiling Spring Tree Farm

Choose-and-cut and pre-cut fir and blue spruce, with netting at no additional cost, hot cocoa, candy canes and wagon rides, Santa visits and handmade wreaths. Opens Friday, November 27, 9am–4pm.

Tree options: Cut your own & Pre-cut

Choose-and-cut and pre-cut trees
Not published
Tree season
Opens Friday, November 27, the day after Thanksgiving; the last day is not published
Visit hours
9am–4pm

Netting, handsaws and twine carry no additional cost. Hot cocoa, candy canes and wagon rides are free.

View farm details

A little farther afield

More tree farms near Dayton

4 nearby farms

These farms are outside this city’s listings, ordered from closer to farther away. Distances are approximate straight-line miles from a reference point in Dayton; road distances vary.

About 10 miles away · Scarborough, Maine

Beech Ridge Farm barn with a wooden sleigh lettered with the farm’s name and evergreen trees in Scarborough, Maine

Scarborough · Maine

Beech Ridge Farm

Balsam fir at one price for any size, $85.31 plus tax, choose-and-cut in the field or pre-cut in the barn, with wreaths. Open one weekend only, November 27–29.

Tree options: Cut your own & Pre-cut

Balsam fir, any size
$85.31
Tree season
One weekend only, November 27–29
Visit hours
Open at 9am; fields close at 4pm; barn closes at 4:30pm

One price for any size, choose-and-cut in the field or pre-cut in the barn, plus tax. The farm sets no height limit or minimum on its pages.

View farm details

About 14 miles away · Wells, Maine

Snow-covered balsam fir rows in the field at Crooked Brook Farm in Wells, Maine

Wells · Maine

Crooked Brook Farm

Choose-and-cut balsam fir from the Maine Christmas Tree Association’s own strain, pruned at the base and grown without herbicides or pesticides. The farm’s Facebook page lists Black Friday, November 27, 10am–3pm as opening day.

Tree options: Cut your own

Choose-and-cut balsam fir
Not published
Tree season
Opens Black Friday, November 27; later dates and closing date not published
Visit hours
Friday, November 27, 10am–3pm; later hours not published

The farm publishes no tree price, size range or price list. Confirm the price at the farm before you cut.

View farm details

About 16 miles away · Cape Elizabeth, Maine

People planting young seedlings in rows in an open field at the Old Farm Christmas Place in Cape Elizabeth, Maine, with woods behind

Cape Elizabeth · Maine

Old Farm Christmas Place

Hand-pruned balsam fir in four tagged sizes from $40 to $146, tax included, with weekend wagon rides, cocoa and cider, custom wreaths and a post-and-beam shop in Cape Elizabeth.

Tree options: Cut your own & Pre-cut

Tagged balsam fir by size
$40–$146
Tree season
November 13 to December 19; tagging only November 13–20, cutting from November 21
Visit hours
9:30am–4pm; fields close at 4pm; closed Mondays and Thanksgiving Day

Table top $40, apartment $72, standard $110 and jumbo $146. The farm prints two figures for each size and labels both tax included; the second figure is the one shown here. Pre-cut prices are not listed separately.

View farm details

About 17 miles away · North Berwick, Maine

Rows of fir Christmas trees on a hillside field at Great Works Farm in North Berwick, Maine, with fall foliage behind

North Berwick · Maine

Great Works Farm

Choose-and-cut by online scheduler for non-members: $90 standard trees, $30–$70 apartment trees, 9:30am–4pm. Christmas Barn with cider, donuts and wreaths. Contact by email only.

Tree options: Cut your own

Choose-and-cut tree
From $30; $90 for a standard tree
Tree season
Saturdays and Sundays, October 31 to December 13, plus Fridays, November 27 and December 4
Visit hours
9:30am–4pm

$90 for any tree without a ribbon. Blue-ribbon trees cost more and orange-ribbon trees cost less; neither amount is published. Non-members buy apartment trees at $50–$70 (6 to 7 feet) or $30–$50 (4 to 5 feet).

View farm details

Compare tree farms

A closer look at selected farms.

In Dayton

Selected farms in Dayton: tree choices, published price examples, cutting, handling and visit arrangements.
CompareBoiling Spring Tree FarmDayton, Maine · in town
Trees & sizesCut your own; Pre-cut trees
  • Species: Fir, Blue spruce.
  • Boiling Spring Tree Farm grows a variety of fir trees across its fields, and offers a selection of blue spruce on request: ask at the red building.
  • It sells both choose-and-cut and pre-cut trees.
  • The Maine Christmas Tree Association’s undated listing describes balsam–Fraser fir crosses and Colorado blue spruce up to 11 feet, while the farm does not publish sizes or say how many pre-cut trees it has.
Published price exampleChoose-and-cut and pre-cut trees, and wreaths: Not published
  • The farm’s website lists no tree or wreath price; confirm at the farm.
  • The farm says cash is king and also accepts check, credit cards and mobile pay.
  • Other published price details: Netting, handsaws and twine carry no additional cost. Hot cocoa, candy canes and wagon rides are free.
Cutting helpCut your own
  • Boiling Spring Tree Farm: trees and tree services: Saws · Plenty of handsaws; bring your own if you like, but no gas or electric chainsaws; battery reciprocating saws are permitted
  • The red building is the center of the visit. You check in there first, collect your tag, saw and the season’s instructions, and return after cutting to warm up and pay. The farm serves hot cocoa and candy canes there, and says that both are free. Wagon rides also start and end at the red building.
  • Choose-and-cut and pre-cut trees; netting, handsaws and twine carry no additional cost; no chainsaws.
Shaking, baling & loadingNetting your tree: No additional cost · Almost all trees can be netted; occasionally a very large tree will not fit through the netter.
  • Handsaws and twine: No additional cost · Plenty of saws are available; the farm provides twine to tie the tree to your car.
  • Boiling Spring Tree Farm: trees and tree services: Netting · No additional cost; very large trees may not fit the netter
  • Boiling Spring Tree Farm: trees and tree services: Twine · Free; the farm cannot tie the tree to your car
  • Choose-and-cut and pre-cut trees; netting, handsaws and twine carry no additional cost; no chainsaws.
  • The farm says cash is king and also accepts check, credit cards and mobile pay.
Visit arrangementsOpens Friday, November 27, the day after Thanksgiving; the last day is not published
  • Christmas season: Friday, November 27, the day after Thanksgiving · Season opens, 9am–4pm
  • Christmas season: Days after opening · Not published
  • Christmas season: Wagon rides · Regularly throughout the day, weather permitting; they start and end at the red building
  • Christmas season: Santa Claus · Usually appears; days and times are posted on the farm’s social media
  • Christmas season: Last day of the season · Not published
  • Tree supply is limited, so trees may run out before the end of the season.
  • The farm starts its season every year the day after Thanksgiving at 9am and closes at 4pm, and its Facebook page gives Friday, November 27 as the start. It has a limited supply of trees each year so that it can keep inventory for future years, and it asks visitors to check its website and social media for the days it is open. The farm has not published a last day.
  • The farm offers packages for professional photographers to book their own sessions on the fields. Bookings are first come, first served, and a liability waiver, emailed to the farm, is required. The booking page is a form and shows no package price. If you are a family looking for a photographer, the farm asks you to contact the photographer directly.

Nearby · outside Dayton

Selected nearby farms outside Dayton: tree choices, published price examples, cutting, handling and visit arrangements.
CompareCrooked Brook FarmWells, Maine · nearbyGreat Works FarmNorth Berwick, Maine · nearbyOld Farm Christmas PlaceCape Elizabeth, Maine · nearby
Trees & sizesCut your own
  • Species: Balsam fir.
  • The fields are grown without herbicides or pesticides, and each tree has its bottom foot of branches cleared, so there is nothing to trim when you get it home.
  • The farm does not publish tree heights, a size range or a price, so ask at the farm when you choose.
  • The farm’s tree page also gives care advice: make a fresh cut of about half an inch to an inch off the trunk, set the tree in a water-filled stand within 30 minutes (another small cut if it waits longer), keep it watered daily, especially in the first days, and afterward mulch it or offer it to farms for animal feed.
Cut your own
  • Non-members can also book two apartment-tree fields for smaller, slimmer trees: 6 to 7 feet at $50 to $70, and 4 to 5 feet at $30 to $50, each marked with an orange ribbon.
  • A pointer for choosing: the Maine Christmas Tree Association’s undated listing for the farm names Fraser, balsam and Concolor firs up to 11 feet tall, while the farm’s own pages do not name species.
Cut your own; Pre-cut trees
  • Species: Balsam fir.
  • You can choose from thousands of trees, in four sizes marked by tag color: jumbo (gold), standard (white), apartment (blue) and table top (red).
  • The farm sells trees three ways: choose and tag, choose and cut, and pre-cut.
  • Because trees are cut field by field on the rotation, you cut only in the areas ready for harvest, and any unsold tree there is yours to take.
  • The farm says fresh pre-cut trees are always available after Thanksgiving, and offers them to anyone short of time.
  • The farm lists no separate price or sizes for pre-cut trees.
Published price exampleChoose-and-cut balsam fir: Not published
  • Not published; confirm at the farm.
  • The farm has not published payment methods.
  • Other published price details: The farm publishes no tree price, size range or price list. Confirm the price at the farm before you cut.
Apartment tree, 6 to 7 feet, slender, non-members: $50–$70
  • Orange ribbon, in the Apartment Tree Field to the left of the cemetery. The 5-to-7-foot scheduler event describes the same field as 5 to 7 feet.
  • Trees are paid for in the Christmas Barn. The farm has not published which payment methods it accepts, or prices for the cider, hot chocolate, donuts, wreaths, garland and ornaments in the barn.
  • Other published price details: $90 for any tree without a ribbon. Blue-ribbon trees cost more and orange-ribbon trees cost less; neither amount is published. Non-members buy apartment trees at $50–$70 (6 to 7 feet) or $30–$50 (4 to 5 feet).
Tree price not specified.
  • The farm does not state how it takes payment for trees on its tree pages. All sales are final, though the farm stands behind its trees 100 percent for any abnormal problem.
Cutting helpCut your own
  • Tree prices are not published; confirm at the farm. The farm also does not publish saw, cart or baling arrangements, parking, restrooms, payment methods or pet rules, so ask when you arrive or before you drive. The farm has also published no wreaths, garland or shop, and no group or party arrangements. Its contact page offers directions on request.
Cut your own
  • The farm’s procedure begins with a note on tools: the members page tells visitors to bring a tree cart and a saw into the fields, while the farm’s home page says it provides saws and tree carts. Ask by email which applies to your visit.
Cut your own
Shaking, baling & loadingTree prices are not published; confirm at the farm. The farm also does not publish saw, cart or baling arrangements, parking, restrooms, payment methods or pet rules, so ask when you arrive or before you drive. The farm has also published no wreaths, garland or shop, and no group or party arrangements. Its contact page offers directions on request.Saws, tree carts, string, shaking and netting: Provided · The farm lists these among what it provides.
  • Any tree with a red ribbon, or one that is decorated, is already sold; choose another. After you cut, if the tree has a price tag, tear off the bottom of the tag and bring it into the Christmas Barn to buy the tree, leaving the top part attached. Then take the tree and your receipt to the shake-and-wrap area for a final check-out, where the farm shakes and nets it.
  • Trees are paid for in the Christmas Barn. The farm has not published which payment methods it accepts, or prices for the cider, hot chocolate, donuts, wreaths, garland and ornaments in the barn.
After you cut, move the tree to the loading area if you plan to ride the wagon, bring the lower tag half to checkout, then use the shaker and baler area or collect the tree when it comes down on the wagon. The farm does not state a charge for the shaker and baler. If a mix-up occurs, the farm tries to contact the first purchaser.
Visit arrangementsOpens Black Friday, November 27; later dates and closing date not published
  • Christmas season: Opening day, Black Friday, November 27 · 10am–3pm, posted on the farm’s Facebook page
  • Christmas season: Days after November 27 · Not published; the farm says it will post hours on Facebook as the season goes on
  • Christmas season: Closing date · Not published
  • Christmas season: Fireside s’mores and baked apples · Dates and times not published; the farm describes them as part of a visit
  • The farm’s contact page asks visitors to contact the farm to schedule a visit and publishes no booking system.
  • The farm’s Facebook page announces the Christmas tree season opening on Black Friday, November 27, from 10am to 3pm, and says to watch that page for further updates. That first-day date and time are posted only on Facebook; the opening date still printed in the footer of the farm’s website is from the previous season. The farm has not published hours for later days, a closing date or a weather rule, so check its Facebook page or ask before a long drive.
  • Crooked Brook Farm: the trees, as the farm describes them: Awards · The farm reports a Reserve Grand Champion and a second place for its trees at the Fryeburg Fair
Saturdays and Sundays, October 31 to December 13, plus Fridays, November 27 and December 4
  • Christmas season: Saturdays and Sundays, October 31 to December 13 · 9:30am–4pm (the farm’s listed schedule)
  • Christmas season: Fridays, November 27 and December 4 · 9:30am–4pm
  • Christmas season: Non-member booking · Times are released on the online scheduler; see the booking table below for the days offering times as of November 5
  • Christmas season: Member tagging · November weekends before Thanksgiving only; no tagging after Thanksgiving
  • Christmas season: Rescheduling, rain or closure rules · Not published by the farm
  • The farm lists no booking fee on the scheduler pages.
  • The farm’s members page lists Saturdays and Sundays from October 31 to December 13 and two Fridays, November 27 and December 4, from 9:30am to 4pm. Non-members get a tree by booking a one-hour slot on the farm’s online scheduler, and the scheduler is the authority on which days you can book: on November 5 it offered times only on November 28 and 29 and December 5 and 6, and the farm’s pages do not say whether more times will open.
  • If you are not a member, you come to the farm by booking a time on its online scheduler; the farm’s non-member page says this is how non-members get a tree. There are three booking calendars, each for a one-hour visit at the farm, and the farm’s event text describes each as a time to choose and cut a tree.
  • As of November 5 the calendars offered times only on the days in the table; every other day showed no times. That cannot tell a fully booked day from a day the farm is not offering, so treat the scheduler as the authority for what you can book and look again for new days. The scheduler pages show no booking fee.
  • The farm is open from 9:30am to 4pm. Its members page lists Saturdays and Sundays from October 31 to December 13 and Fridays, November 27 and December 4. That schedule is much wider than the days non-members could book on November 5, so the farm’s listed days are not a promise of open slots for non-members.
  • The farm does not publish a rain or closure policy, or a rule for cancelling or rescheduling a booking. Ask by email if you need to change a time.
  • The farm says all trees are $90 unless they have a blue or orange ribbon. Blue-ribbon trees are priced higher and orange-ribbon trees lower, without amounts. When you book the standard $90 slot as a non-member, orange-ribbon trees are not available to you; use the apartment-tree schedulers for those.
  • The farm’s procedure begins with a note on tools: the members page tells visitors to bring a tree cart and a saw into the fields, while the farm’s home page says it provides saws and tree carts. Ask by email which applies to your visit.
  • The farm lists no phone number. Its contact for questions and help with booking is the email greatworksfarm@yahoo.com, shown on every page of its website. Non-members book through the online scheduler links above.
  • Non-members book a one-hour slot on the online scheduler, which showed times on only a few days when last checked.
November 13 to December 19; tagging only November 13–20, cutting from November 21
  • Christmas season: Friday, November 13 to Friday, November 20 · Tagging only, 9:30am–4pm
  • Christmas season: From Saturday, November 21 to Saturday, December 19 · Cutting starts; remaining tagging continues; 9:30am–4pm
  • Christmas season: Mondays · Closed
  • Christmas season: Thanksgiving Day, Thursday, November 26 · Closed
  • Christmas season: Weekends · Wagon rides, hot cocoa and cider, a warming fire and marshmallow toasting; the farm does not date the first weekend of these extras
  • Christmas season: Every open day · Fields close at 4pm; the farm’s hints page says to arrive before 4pm
  • The farm’s hints page says activities and field access depend on weather and field suitability. Live tree availability is posted on the farm’s Facebook page.
  • The season runs from Friday, November 13 to Saturday, December 19. In the first week you can tag a tree only, and cutting starts on Saturday, November 21 while tagging continues. The farm’s home page gives these dates; its contact page also says tagging, cutting and refreshments all begin the day after Thanksgiving, which conflicts with those dates, so confirm them if you plan to come in the first weeks. The farm is closed on Mondays and on Thanksgiving Day, and says all tree cutting and field access is subject to weather conditions and field suitability.
  • Trees available to buy carry a two-part tag. To reserve a tree, tear off the bottom half and pay; to cut it yourself, cut the tree and bring the half to checkout. The receipt carries the tag number used to pick up the tree. Half-tagged or untagged trees have been sold or are not available, so check the tag number against your receipt before you leave.

Offers vary by species, size and format. Confirm prices, stock and opening details before visiting; ask about unlisted handling charges.

Analytics

Analytics is off until your choice is ready.

Analytics is on by default. Your choice is remembered for up to six months.

Turning it off clears pending events across this site's tabs. Events already sent cannot be recalled. Turning it back on starts a fresh journey.

What analytics records

Owner QA

Analytics is paused while this setting is open.