← Back to your results

Reedley · California

Hillcrest Farm

A Reedley tree farm that calls itself the oldest in the San Joaquin Valley, with cut-your-own Monterey pines at one price for any size up to 12 feet, shipped-in Noble, Douglas and Fraser firs, weekend steam train rides and a separately ticketed Pajama Christmas night.

Visitors choosing trees in the sunlit tree lot at Hillcrest Farm in Reedley
Choosing a tree in the lot.

At a glance

Your tree visit.

Tree choices
Cut your own · Pre-cut trees
Cut-your-own Monterey pine
$45–$310

Cut-your-own Monterey pines are $85 each no matter the size, up to 12 feet. Pre-cut Noble, Douglas and Fraser firs run $45–$310 by species and size. Tree services such as shaking, drilling and flocking have no posted prices.

Prices & conditions ↓
Visit times

Daily 10am–5pm from the weekend after Thanksgiving to about Sunday, December 20. The farm’s page gives the first day as both Saturday, November 28 and November 29. Weekend steam train rides and Santa photos; Pajama Christmas nights are separate.

Full schedule ↓

Find your tree

Choose your Christmas tree.

Hillcrest sells Monterey pines that you cut yourself. The farm says it has more very tall ones than is usual, up to 12 feet, at the same price as the shorter ones: $85 each no matter the size. Saws are available, or you may bring your own, and full tree services, including shaking, drilling and flocking, are offered without a posted price.

Noble, Douglas and Fraser firs are shipped in from snow country because they will not grow in the valley heat. They are pre-cut and run from $45 to $310 depending on species and size; the tallest are 10 or 11 feet, and the farm warns there are not many of those. No arrival dates or per-size prices are posted.

The farm is a Reedley tree farm that says it is the oldest in the San Joaquin Valley, founded by Ed and Bonnie Toews at this location. The current owners took over in the early 1990s and added a half-scale railroad, which now runs in the tree season.

Published varieties

  • Monterey pine
  • Noble fir
  • Douglas fir
  • Fraser fir
Which variety suits your decorations?

General tree guidance; the farm’s selection, sizes and services are described above.

Fraser fir
Upward branches and good needle retention; firmer branches can suit heavier ornaments.
Douglas fir
Soft needles and more flexible branches, suited to lighter ornaments.

Learn more: University of Wisconsin Extension ↗ · National Christmas Tree Association ↗

Compare the options

Trees & prices.

The farm does not state its payment methods for trees. It says some food vendors take cash only and that you can also get cash at the farm. No admission charge is stated for the tree season.

Hillcrest Farm: tree types, sizes and posted prices
Selection & sizePrice
Cut-your-own Monterey pine, any size up to 12 feet$85

Each, no matter the size; saws are provided or you may bring your own.

Pre-cut Noble, Douglas and Fraser fir$45–$310

Depends on species and size; the tallest firs are 10 or 11 feet and not many are available. No price list by size is posted.

Shaking, drilling, flocking and other tree servicesNot published

The farm says full tree services are available; confirm the charge at the farm.

Steam train ride$5–$10

Each, age 2 and up, depending on whether the ride is one way or a round trip; weekends only.

Photos with SantaNot published

Weekend day visits and Pajama Christmas nights; the farm describes an additional fee on Pajama Christmas nights.

Pajama Christmas night train$40 per person

Age 2 and up, under 2 free; a booked ticket shows $42.40 per person with the booking fee for an evening in early December. Separate from tree purchase.

Farm photo shoot booking$21.20 per client

Price shown includes fees; personal photos only; booked online for the date.

Cut-your-own Monterey pines

Walk the field, choose a Monterey pine and cut it yourself with a farm saw or your own. Every cut-your-own tree is $85 whatever its height, up to 12 feet, so a tall tree costs the same as a short one. The farm offers full tree services, including shaking, drilling and flocking, but posts no charges for them.

The farm states no admission charge for the tree season and no last-entry time, and gives no rain rule for tree sales.

Pre-cut Noble, Douglas and Fraser firs

The pre-cut firs are shipped in and priced by species and size from $45 to $310. The farm posts no price by size or species, so ask at the lot before you decide. The tallest are 10 or 11 feet, and not many of those are available.

Hillcrest Farm: tree offers
TreeSizePriceNote
Monterey pine, cut your ownUp to 12 feet$85 eachSame price at any size; saws provided or bring your own
Noble, Douglas and Fraser fir, pre-cutTallest 10 or 11 feet$45–$310By species and size; no per-size list posted
Shaking, drilling, flocking and other servicesNot statedNot publishedConfirm at the farm

Steam train rides, Santa photos and food on weekends

On Saturdays and Sundays during the season the farm runs a 15-minute tour on its half-scale live-steam narrow-gauge railroad. Tickets are $5 to $10 each for age 2 and up, depending on whether the ride is one way or a round trip, and the farm notes one-way tickets are not always offered. Where tickets are sold and how they can be paid for are not stated.

Photos with Santa are offered on weekends from about 10am to 4pm and on Pajama Christmas nights; the fee is not posted. Hot food vendors are on site on Saturdays and Sundays, along with snacks and drinks. Some vendors take cash only, and you can get cash at the farm. No menus or prices are posted.

Pajama Christmas night train

Pajama Christmas is a separate evening event with its own tickets, and a ticket is not part of buying a tree. The farm lists nights from November 29 to December 3 and from December 5 to 23, 6:00pm to 8:30pm, but its booking calendar marks some nights as not offered, including nights inside that range, so choose a night from the booking calendar.

Tickets are $40 per person for age 2 and up, with children under 2 free. They are sold in advance online through the farm’s FareHarbor booking page, which adds a small fee; an early December evening shows $42.40 per person with the fee. Tickets are non-refundable unless the farm cancels, and may be given away or resold at no more than retail. The event goes ahead rain or shine and lasts about two and a half hours. The booking page lets you move your tickets to another open date and join a waitlist for a night that is full.

Hillcrest Farm: Pajama Christmas night
ItemDetail
NightsNovember 29 to December 3 and December 5 to 23 per the farm; check the booking calendar for nights not offered
Hours6:00pm–8:30pm; the last train leaves about 10 minutes before the close
Ticket$40 per person, age 2 and up; under 2 free; $42.40 per person with the booking fee for an evening in early December
IncludedUnlimited steam train rides, unlimited hot cocoa with all the fixings, unlimited cookies, live music and carolers, fire bowls to warm up by
ExtraHot food vendors, cash only; photos with Santa for an additional fee
ArrivalCheck in at the Stone Bridge for wristbands, follow the lanterns and take the stairs to Hillcrest Station
AccessDescribed as wheelchair friendly; ask about special parking; accessible drop-off at the front gate
Steam locomotive number 13 at night in a cloud of steam with Christmas lights at Hillcrest Farm's Pajama Christmas train rides
The farm's steam locomotive on a Pajama Christmas night.

Farm photo shoots

Separate from tree buying, the farm sells entry to its property for personal photos through an online booking. The price is $21.20 per client, groups or individuals, with fees included, and there is no set schedule: come any time on the booked date. You bring your own photographer. Payment in cash is possible at the house carport, and cancellations and reschedules are accepted with 24 hours’ notice. Commercial photography is not permitted; contact the farm about it.

Private parties

The farm hosts private parties for up to about 300 people. Rules include no alcohol, no bounce houses, no mylar confetti, no unattended children, no dogs and a clean-up by the host, with amplified music off by 10pm. Train rates apply when the farm is closed to the public; in the months it is open to the public (October, December and March) a party can instead reserve the Party Corral.

Hillcrest Farm: private party rates
BookingRateNote
Party without train$400 minimumUp to 80 guests, plus $4 each over 80; picnic tables, BBQ (if available) and children's play areas included
Party with diesel train$600 upper railroad (about 12 minutes) or $700 whole railroad (about 20 minutes)When closed to the public; up to 60 guests, plus $4 each over 60
Party with steam train$750 or $850Two hours of unlimited rides; up to 60 guests, plus $4 each over 60
Party Corral when open to the public$50 to reserveWeekends, 10am–1pm or 2pm–5pm; six picnic tables and a food table under the gazebo; two tables per customer
Unlimited train for a party when open to the public$20 per guestAdded to the Party Corral

Weddings

Weddings are a separate hospitality booking for up to 250 guests. The base fixed price is $3,000 ($3,300 if the alcohol option is chosen) and covers set-up the day before if available, the day of the event and pick-up the day after, plus the restrooms, 30 picnic tables and the lower parking lot; guests over 250 are $3 each. A $200 deposit is refundable until four weeks beforehand. You haul in, set up and clean up everything and provide your own security and any extra bathrooms. To serve alcohol you must carry your own event insurance, which the farm says may run about $200, and hire security, about $300 for a one-day event.

Hillcrest Farm: wedding rates
ItemPriceNote
Base fixed price$3,000$3,300 with the alcohol option; up to 250 guests, $3 each over 250
Deposit$200Refundable until 4 weeks before the event
Train$600 diesel, $750 steam$700 and $850 if the entire railroad is used; pick a 2-hour slot
Lighting$600Whole farm lighting, if the event runs past daylight; power is available in some areas, so bring extension cords
Accessories$40-$200Farm wagon $80, lighted LOVE sign $40, fruit-bin ice chests $50, antique flat-bed truck $200

Pets, grounds and getting there

Pets are not allowed because of the farm’s insurance; only medically trained service dogs may come onto the property. The farm’s party page describes picnic areas, children’s play areas, trails and a tree house on the grounds, and for Pajama Christmas nights you enter at the front gate and park, with accessible parking directed by staff. The fall pumpkin patch and spring events are separate seasons and are not part of a Christmas visit.

The farm sits at Reed and Adams in Reedley. The farm’s pages do not post restroom locations, accessibility for day visits beyond the Pajama Christmas details above, or a group policy for tree visits.

Pick your day

Dates & hours.

Official visit information ↗

Tree season: Weekend after Thanksgiving to about Sunday, December 20; first day listed as both November 28 and November 29

The farm’s Christmas page heading gives Saturday, November 28 to about Sunday, December 20, daily from 10 to 5, while a lower block on the same page gives November 29 to December 20. Its other pages say the season opens the Saturday after Thanksgiving, which is November 28. The farm itself says about for the last day, and posts no last-entry time. Pajama Christmas runs in the evening on its own tickets and dates.

Hillcrest Farm: published opening schedule
Christmas seasonHours
Cut-your-own and pre-cut trees, from the weekend after Thanksgiving (November 28 or 29) to about Sunday, December 20Daily 10am–5pm
Steam train rides and hot food vendors, Saturdays and SundaysDuring the day; the farm posts no ride hours
Photos with Santa, Saturdays and SundaysAbout 10am–4pm
Pajama Christmas night train, November 29 to December 3 and December 5 to 23 per the farm; the booking calendar shows some nights as not offered6:00pm–8:30pm; separate ticket, rain or shine

The farm states no rain rule for tree sales. Pets are not allowed except medically trained service dogs.

Before you go.

  • Cut-your-own is $85 at any size up to 12 feet; pre-cut firs are $45–$310 by species and size.
  • The first day is listed as both November 28 and November 29; the last day is about December 20.
  • Pajama Christmas is a separate ticketed night event; check the booking calendar for nights not offered.
  • Santa photo and tree service fees are not posted.
  • Pets are not allowed; trained service dogs only.
  • The farm’s email is hillcrestshops@aol.com.

6943 S Reed Ave, Reedley, CA 93654

Tree season questions, parties and weddings559-638-2762

Keep exploring

Other farms to compare.

  • Grass Valley, California

    McBurney Tree Farm

    Individually tagged choose-and-cut trees near Grass Valley, cut it yourself or let staff cut it, open daily November 20 to December 24, with campfire weekends and a Winter Solstice Walk.

  • Placerville, California

    McGee Christmas Tree Farm

    An Apple Hill choose-and-cut farm with one price for any tree: $145 cash or $150 by card, packaging and tax included. Open Thanksgiving weekend, 8am to dusk.

  • Camino, California

    Indian Rock Tree Farm

    An Apple Hill choose-and-cut and fresh-cut farm open Thursday to Monday from about November 27, with saws and staff help provided, a gift shop, and entry tickets needed November 27 to 29.

Hillcrest Christmas trees page ↗

Analytics

Analytics is off until your choice is ready.

Analytics is on by default. Your choice is remembered for up to six months.

Turning it off clears pending events across this site's tabs. Events already sent cannot be recalled. Turning it back on starts a fresh journey.

What analytics records

Owner QA

Analytics is paused while this setting is open.