Christmas tree farm guide · South Carolina

Christmas tree farms in Newberry & nearby.

1 farm in Newberry2 nearby options within 25 miles

In Newberry

1 farm listed

Rows of cypress and Carolina Sapphire Christmas trees in the field at Shine & Lee’s Christmas Trees in Newberry, South Carolina

Newberry · South Carolina

Shine & Lee’s Christmas Trees

Choose-and-cut Carolina Sapphire and Leyland cypress and pre-cut Fraser fir, all individually priced, with a shake, bore and bale routine. Tree prices and this season’s dates are not published; confirm at the farm.

Tree options: Cut your own & Pre-cut

Choose-and-cut and premium pre-cut trees
Not published
Tree season
This season’s dates are not published; the schedule still posted is for the previous season, which opened on the Friday before Thanksgiving week and ran weekends to the third weekend of December
Visit hours
Not published for this season; the previous season’s posted hours were Friday and Saturday 9am–5:30pm and Sunday 1:30pm–5:30pm

The farm says choose-and-cut trees are individually priced and pre-cut Fraser fir is priced by size and quality, and it publishes no dollar figure for either. Confirm the price at the farm before you cut.

View farm details

A little farther afield

More tree farms near Newberry

2 nearby farms

These farms are outside this city’s listings, ordered from closer to farther away. Distances are approximate straight-line miles from a reference point in Newberry; road distances vary.

About 23 miles away · Gilbert, South Carolina

Frosted Leyland cypress Christmas trees in the field at sunrise at Hollow Creek Tree Farm in Gilbert, South Carolina

Gilbert · South Carolina

Hollow Creek Tree Farm

Choose-and-cut Leyland and other cypress, pine and cedar, individually tagged at $58–$98 for 6 ft–8 ft and $108–$198 for 9 ft–12 ft, plus premium fresh-cut firs. Opens Sunday, November 22 at 1pm; last day Wednesday, December 16.

Tree options: Cut your own & Pre-cut

Choose-and-cut and premium fresh-cut trees
From $58
Tree season
Opens Sunday, November 22 at 1pm; last day Wednesday, December 16
Visit hours
Sunday–Thursday 1pm–5:30pm; Friday and Saturday 9am–5:30pm; Thanksgiving Day 1pm–5pm

Field trees are $58–$98 at 6 ft–8 ft and $108–$198 at 9 ft–12 ft. Premium fresh-cut firs are $88–$148 at 6 ft–7 1/2 ft and $145–$288 at 8 ft–10 ft. Each tree is individually tagged. The farm’s price page does not mention shaking, baling, drilling or cutting fees, sales tax or payment methods.

View farm details

About 23 miles away · Gilbert, South Carolina

The Christmas House gift shop porch with wreaths and small potted trees at Cedar Ridge Tree Farm in Gilbert, South Carolina

Gilbert · South Carolina

Cedar Ridge Tree Farm

You-cut trees in six varieties plus pre-cut Fraser fir, with saws provided and staff to cut, shake, net and load. Tree prices and this season’s dates are not published; confirm at the farm.

Tree options: Cut your own & Pre-cut

You-cut trees and pre-cut Fraser fir
Not published
Tree season
This season’s dates are not published; the schedule still posted is for the previous season, which opened the Saturday before Thanksgiving week and closed the second Sunday of December
Visit hours
Not published for this season; the previous season’s posted hours were Monday–Thursday 1pm–5pm, Friday and Saturday 9am–5pm, Sunday 1pm–5pm

The farm publishes no tree price, size range or price list on any page. Confirm the price at the farm before you cut.

View farm details

Compare tree farms

In Newberry

Selected farms in Newberry: tree choices, published price examples, cutting, handling and visit arrangements.
CompareShine & Lee’s Christmas TreesNewberry, South Carolina · in town
Trees & sizesCut your own; Pre-cut trees
  • Species: Carolina Sapphire, Leyland Cypress, Fraser fir (pre-cut).
  • Shine & Lee’s says all of its field trees are choose-and-cut and individually priced.
  • Premium pre-cut Fraser fir, which the farm sets in water when it arrives at the farm, is priced by size and quality, and you call for availability.
  • The farm says it has beautiful trees of all sizes but publishes no heights or prices.
Published price exampleChoose-and-cut Carolina Sapphire and Leyland cypress: Not published
  • The farm says each tree is individually priced; confirm at the farm.
  • The farm’s site does not state payment methods.
  • Other published price details: The farm says choose-and-cut trees are individually priced and pre-cut Fraser fir is priced by size and quality, and it publishes no dollar figure for either. Confirm the price at the farm before you cut.
Cutting helpCut your own
  • The farm asks you to call 803-276-0161 for availability and says pre-cut trees are priced by size and quality. No price or size list is published.
Shaking, baling & loadingShake, bore and bale service: Not published · The farm does not say whether a charge applies.
  • Shine & Lee’s: the three steps: 1. Shake · A machine shakes out dead needles and other debris.
  • Shine & Lee’s: the three steps: 2. Bore · A fresh cut is made and a borer drills the trunk bottom for stands that need a center hole.
  • Shine & Lee’s: the three steps: 3. Bale · A baler nets the tree tight and narrow; the farm says to cut the netting down the front.
  • Shine & Lee’s: the three steps: Loading · Customers load their own trees.
  • The farm calls this its 3 Step VIP Treatment. First, a machine shakes out dead needles and the debris that collects in a tree. Second, a borer drills the bottom of the trunk, after a fresh cut, for any stand that needs a center hole. Third, a baler nets the tree tight and narrow so it travels easily; the farm says to cut the netting down the front when you get it home.
  • The farm says customers load their own trees. It does not publish a charge for the shaking, boring or baling, so ask whether it is included.
  • Staff shake, bore and bale your tree; customers load their own.
  • The farm’s site does not state payment methods.
Visit arrangementsThis season’s dates are not published; the schedule still posted is for the previous season, which opened on the Friday before Thanksgiving week and ran weekends to the third weekend of December
  • Previous season’s posted schedule (a guide; confirm this season’s dates): Opening day, a Friday, the Friday before Thanksgiving week · 9am–5:30pm
  • Previous season’s posted schedule (a guide; confirm this season’s dates): Fridays and Saturdays through the third weekend of December · 9am–5:30pm
  • Previous season’s posted schedule (a guide; confirm this season’s dates): Sundays through the third weekend of December · 1:30pm–5:30pm
  • Previous season’s posted schedule (a guide; confirm this season’s dates): Monday–Thursday · No hours appeared on the farm’s calendar for that season
  • Previous season’s posted schedule (a guide; confirm this season’s dates): This season’s dates and hours · Not published
  • Previous season’s posted schedule (a guide; confirm this season’s dates): Weather closures and sell-out rules · Not published; the farm advises bringing an umbrella and phoning ahead
  • Previous season’s posted schedule (a guide; confirm this season’s dates): Wreaths and garland · Order by phone and pick up at the farm; pick-up by appointment
  • These rows describe the schedule the farm posted for its previous season and are not confirmed for this one.
  • The farm’s home page and its embedded calendar still show the schedule for its previous season, so the pattern is shown only as a guide. That calendar listed only Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays, opening on the Friday before Thanksgiving week and ending on the third weekend of December. Phone the farm for this season’s dates and its tree supply before you drive.
  • For tree supply, weather, wreath orders and pick-up appointments, call 803-276-0161, the number the farm prints on its pages. Its home page also lists 803-924-8542 as a second number for updates or questions, and a business email, info@shineandleeschristmastrees.com. The farm does not publish payment methods, parking, terrain, accessibility or pet rules, so ask before you go if any of those matter.

Nearby · outside Newberry

Selected nearby farms outside Newberry: tree choices, published price examples, cutting, handling and visit arrangements.
CompareCedar Ridge Tree FarmGilbert, South Carolina · nearbyHollow Creek Tree FarmGilbert, South Carolina · nearby
Trees & sizesCut your own; Pre-cut trees
  • Species: Deodar Cedar, Virginia Pine, White Pine, Carolina Sapphire, Eastern Red Cedar, Leyland Cypress, Fraser fir (pre-cut).
  • You can cut your own from trees grown fresh on the farm, or have one of the farm’s lumberjacks cut it for you, and you can choose a pre-cut Fraser fir that the farm says is delivered fresh each week from North Carolina.
  • The farm’s trees page describes seven varieties: Deodar cedar, Virginia pine, white pine, Carolina Sapphire, Eastern red cedar, Leyland cypress and the pre-cut Fraser fir.
  • The farm says the field offers tall, slender and full trees, and perhaps even a Charlie Brown tree, but it does not publish heights or a price for any of them, and it does not say which varieties are in the fields this season.
Cut your own; Pre-cut trees
  • Species: Leyland Cypress, Jingles Cypress, Murray Cypress, Carolina Sapphire, Blue Ice Cypress, Virginia Pine, Thuja Green Giant, Deodar Cedar, Eastern Red Cedar, Hollow Creek Slims, Fraser fir (fresh-cut).
  • Every tree in the field is priced individually with a tag, and the farm’s one firm rule is not to cut a tree that has no tag, because those are future trees kept for the harvest rotation.
  • Premium fresh-cut Fraser fir is sold alongside, and the farm’s blue spruce page lists a fresh-cut spruce that its supplier cuts late.
  • It does not mention saws or carts, does not publish heights for each variety, and does not say which varieties are in the fields this season, so ask when you arrive.
Published price examplePre-cut Fraser fir: Not published
  • Not published; confirm at the farm.
  • The farm’s site does not state payment methods.
  • Other published price details: The farm publishes no tree price, size range or price list on any page. Confirm the price at the farm before you cut.
Premium fresh-cut firs, 6 ft–7 1/2 ft: $88–$148
  • Per tree; sold alongside the field trees.
  • The farm’s price page does not state payment methods or sales tax.
  • Other published price details: Field trees are $58–$98 at 6 ft–8 ft and $108–$198 at 9 ft–12 ft. Premium fresh-cut firs are $88–$148 at 6 ft–7 1/2 ft and $145–$288 at 8 ft–10 ft. Each tree is individually tagged. The farm’s price page does not mention shaking, baling, drilling or cutting fees, sales tax or payment methods.
Cutting helpCut your own
  • The farm describes a quaint, boutique-style tree farm where you walk the field, pick your tree and cut it with a saw the farm provides, and measuring sticks are on hand to check a tree’s height. If you would rather not saw, one of the farm’s lumberjacks will cut the tree for you.
  • You-cut trees in six varieties plus pre-cut Fraser fir delivered weekly from North Carolina; saws and measuring sticks are provided.
  • Staff cut on request, then shake, net, drill and load; charges are not published.
Cut your own
  • At Hollow Creek you walk the fields, find a tree you like and read its tag. Each tree is priced individually, so two trees of the same height can be priced differently. The farm asks that you never cut a tree without a price tag; untagged trees are future trees kept to maintain a steady harvest.
  • Choose-and-cut trees run from 6 ft–8 ft at $58–$98 to 9 ft–12 ft at $108–$198. The farm says its staff will cut your tree if you prefer. It does not mention saws, carts or wagons for the field, so ask on arrival if you want to cut it yourself.
  • The farm’s home page calls service its specialty. Staff, whom the farm calls its tree wranglers and who are mostly seasonal young workers, cut your tree if you like, then transport it, shake it, bale it and carry it out to your vehicle. The farm’s About page describes the crew cutting, baling, lifting, shaking, drilling, hammering, carrying and loading.
  • Staff cut on request, then shake, bale and carry your tree to your vehicle; charges for these services are not published.
Shaking, baling & loadingCutting, shaking, netting and drilling: Not published · The farm does not say whether these services carry a charge.
  • Once your tree is cut, the farm says one of its lumberjacks takes it to the baling shed to shake away loose needles and leaves and net it for easy transport. If your tree stand needs a hole drilled in the trunk, the farm offers that service too, and the farm’s trees page says staff will shake, bale, load and securely fasten the tree to your vehicle.
  • The farm does not publish a charge for cutting, shaking, netting, drilling or loading, so ask whether anything is added to the tree’s price.
  • The farm’s pages show other fields that serve as backdrops in other seasons: sunflowers and zinnias in June and July, wildflowers in spring, and in fall a pumpkin patch, pumpkin decorations, hay bales, corn, cotton and tall grasses. These are not part of a Christmas tree visit.
  • Staff cut on request, then shake, net, drill and load; charges are not published.
  • The farm’s site does not state payment methods.
Wreaths, bows, ornaments, cutting, baling, drilling and carrying: Not published · The farm lists these without prices; confirm at the farm.
  • These are the ranges on the farm’s price page. The page says every tree is individually tagged in the field, so the tag is the price you pay. It does not mention sales tax, payment methods, or fees for cutting, baling or drilling.
  • The farm’s home page calls service its specialty. Staff, whom the farm calls its tree wranglers and who are mostly seasonal young workers, cut your tree if you like, then transport it, shake it, bale it and carry it out to your vehicle. The farm’s About page describes the crew cutting, baling, lifting, shaking, drilling, hammering, carrying and loading.
  • Staff also drill the trunk for pin or rebar stands. The farm does not publish a charge for any of these services and the price page lists none, so confirm whether anything is added to the tagged price.
  • The farm sells tree stands, with prices on its tree-stand page. It says it is phasing out the pin and rebar stands, though staff still drill trunks for them.
  • Staff cut on request, then shake, bale and carry your tree to your vehicle; charges for these services are not published.
  • The farm’s price page does not state payment methods or sales tax.
Visit arrangementsThis season’s dates are not published; the schedule still posted is for the previous season, which opened the Saturday before Thanksgiving week and closed the second Sunday of December
  • Previous season’s posted schedule (a guide; confirm this season’s dates): Opening day, a Saturday, the Saturday before Thanksgiving week · 9am–5pm
  • Previous season’s posted schedule (a guide; confirm this season’s dates): Monday–Thursday · 1pm–5pm
  • Previous season’s posted schedule (a guide; confirm this season’s dates): Friday and Saturday · 9am–5pm
  • Previous season’s posted schedule (a guide; confirm this season’s dates): Sunday · 1pm–5pm
  • Previous season’s posted schedule (a guide; confirm this season’s dates): Thanksgiving Day · 1pm–5pm
  • Previous season’s posted schedule (a guide; confirm this season’s dates): Black Friday · 9am–5pm
  • Previous season’s posted schedule (a guide; confirm this season’s dates): Closing day, the second Sunday of December · Last day of that season
  • Previous season’s posted schedule (a guide; confirm this season’s dates): Pictures with Santa · One Saturday morning in early December, 10am–12pm, in the previous season; this season’s date is not published
  • Previous season’s posted schedule (a guide; confirm this season’s dates): Photography sessions · By appointment, year-round
  • Previous season’s posted schedule (a guide; confirm this season’s dates): This season’s dates, weather rule, last-cut time · Not published
  • These rows describe the schedule the farm posted for its previous season and are not confirmed for this one.
  • The farm’s contact page still shows the schedule for its previous season, not the coming one, and the pattern below is shown only as a guide. The farm has not published this season’s opening day, closing day, weather rule or last-cut time, so call, text or message the farm before you drive.
Opens Sunday, November 22 at 1pm; last day Wednesday, December 16
  • Christmas season: Opening day, Sunday, November 22 · Opens at 1pm
  • Christmas season: Sunday–Thursday · 1pm–5:30pm
  • Christmas season: Friday and Saturday · 9am–5:30pm
  • Christmas season: Thanksgiving Day, Thursday, November 26 · 1pm–5pm
  • Christmas season: Last day, Wednesday, December 16 · Not listed separately
  • Christmas season: Free hot chocolate and coffee · Offered during open hours; the farm says hot chocolate is available every open day
  • Christmas season: Free hayrides · Weekends; times not published
  • Christmas season: Weather closures and last-cut time · Not published
  • These dates and hours are the ones on the farm’s home page for the current season.
  • The farm’s home page gives the opening day, the last day and these hours. The farm does not publish a weather rule or a cutoff time for the last cut; call before a late-season trip.

Offers vary by species, size and format. Confirm prices, stock and opening details before visiting; ask about unlisted handling charges.

Analytics

Analytics is off until your choice is ready.

Analytics is on by default. Your choice is remembered for up to six months.

Turning it off clears pending events across this site's tabs. Events already sent cannot be recalled. Turning it back on starts a fresh journey.

What analytics records

Owner QA

Analytics is paused while this setting is open.