Christmas tree farm guide · South Carolina

Christmas tree farms in Monetta & nearby.

1 farm in Monetta2 nearby options within 25 miles

In Monetta

1 farm listed

A little blue-barrel train pulled by a riding mower rolls between rows of Leyland cypress Christmas trees at Tom Sawyer’s Christmas Trees in Monetta, South Carolina

Monetta · South Carolina

Tom Sawyer’s Christmas Trees

Virginia and white pine, Leyland Cypress and cedar priced by size range from $60, plus fresh-cut Fraser fir at $140–$240. Opens the Sunday before Thanksgiving (November 22) at 1pm with a Blessing of the Trees at 2pm.

Tree options: Cut your own & Pre-cut

Choose-and-cut trees and fresh-cut Fraser fir
From $60
Tree season
Opens the Sunday before Thanksgiving (November 22) at 1pm; closing date not published
Visit hours
Saturday 10am–5:30pm; Sunday 1pm–5:30pm; Monday–Friday opening times differ between sources (closing 5:30pm), so confirm

The farm lists prices by kind and size range: all cedars (6 ft–12 ft) $60; Leyland Cypress (6 ft–16 ft) $60–$300; Virginia Pine (6 ft–12 ft) $60–$200; White Pine (7 ft–16 ft) $80–$200; fresh-cut Fraser fir (7 ft–9.5 ft) $140–$240. It does not say how a price is set within a range, so confirm the price of the tree you choose before it is cut. Wreath, garland, ornament and train prices are not published.

View farm details

A little farther afield

More tree farms near Monetta

2 nearby farms

These farms are outside this city’s listings, ordered from closer to farther away. Distances are approximate straight-line miles from a reference point in Monetta; road distances vary.

About 15 miles away · Gilbert, South Carolina

Frosted Leyland cypress Christmas trees in the field at sunrise at Hollow Creek Tree Farm in Gilbert, South Carolina

Gilbert · South Carolina

Hollow Creek Tree Farm

Choose-and-cut Leyland and other cypress, pine and cedar, individually tagged at $58–$98 for 6 ft–8 ft and $108–$198 for 9 ft–12 ft, plus premium fresh-cut firs. Opens Sunday, November 22 at 1pm; last day Wednesday, December 16.

Tree options: Cut your own & Pre-cut

Choose-and-cut and premium fresh-cut trees
From $58
Tree season
Opens Sunday, November 22 at 1pm; last day Wednesday, December 16
Visit hours
Sunday–Thursday 1pm–5:30pm; Friday and Saturday 9am–5:30pm; Thanksgiving Day 1pm–5pm

Field trees are $58–$98 at 6 ft–8 ft and $108–$198 at 9 ft–12 ft. Premium fresh-cut firs are $88–$148 at 6 ft–7 1/2 ft and $145–$288 at 8 ft–10 ft. Each tree is individually tagged. The farm’s price page does not mention shaking, baling, drilling or cutting fees, sales tax or payment methods.

View farm details

About 15 miles away · Gilbert, South Carolina

The Christmas House gift shop porch with wreaths and small potted trees at Cedar Ridge Tree Farm in Gilbert, South Carolina

Gilbert · South Carolina

Cedar Ridge Tree Farm

You-cut trees in six varieties plus pre-cut Fraser fir, with saws provided and staff to cut, shake, net and load. Tree prices and this season’s dates are not published; confirm at the farm.

Tree options: Cut your own & Pre-cut

You-cut trees and pre-cut Fraser fir
Not published
Tree season
This season’s dates are not published; the schedule still posted is for the previous season, which opened the Saturday before Thanksgiving week and closed the second Sunday of December
Visit hours
Not published for this season; the previous season’s posted hours were Monday–Thursday 1pm–5pm, Friday and Saturday 9am–5pm, Sunday 1pm–5pm

The farm publishes no tree price, size range or price list on any page. Confirm the price at the farm before you cut.

View farm details

Compare tree farms

In Monetta

Selected farms in Monetta: tree choices, published price examples, cutting, handling and visit arrangements.
CompareTom Sawyer’s Christmas TreesMonetta, South Carolina · in town
Trees & sizesCut your own; Pre-cut trees
  • Species: Virginia Pine, White Pine, Leyland Cypress, Red Cedar, Carolina Sapphire, Blue Ice, Thuja Green Giant, Fraser fir (fresh-cut).
  • They give no heights beyond the price ranges either, so ask when you arrive.
Published price exampleFraser fir, fresh cut from North Carolina, 7 ft–9.5 ft: $140–$240
  • Shipped-in tree, separate from the farm-grown varieties.
  • The farm’s own pages do not state payment methods; a state agriculture directory entry lists cash, check and credit cards.
  • Other published price details: The farm lists prices by kind and size range: all cedars (6 ft–12 ft) $60; Leyland Cypress (6 ft–16 ft) $60–$300; Virginia Pine (6 ft–12 ft) $60–$200; White Pine (7 ft–16 ft) $80–$200; fresh-cut Fraser fir (7 ft–9.5 ft) $140–$240. It does not say how a price is set within a range, so confirm the price of the tree you choose before it is cut. Wreath, garland, ornament and train prices are not published.
Cutting helpCut your own
  • The farm’s pages do not describe how cutting works, so ask on arrival whether saws are supplied, whether staff will cut for you, and whether trees are shaken, baled or loaded for you and at what cost.
  • How cutting works, and saws, baling and loading, are not described on the farm’s pages; ask on arrival.
Shaking, baling & loadingThe farm’s pages do not describe how cutting works, so ask on arrival whether saws are supplied, whether staff will cut for you, and whether trees are shaken, baled or loaded for you and at what cost.
  • The farm’s tree-care page advises a fresh cut of about half an inch off the trunk, a stand that holds at least a gallon of clean water, watering right away and at least daily, and keeping the tree away from heat and sunlight. It says drilling a hole in the base does not improve water uptake and that additives are of little value.
  • How cutting works, and saws, baling and loading, are not described on the farm’s pages; ask on arrival.
Visit arrangementsOpens the Sunday before Thanksgiving (November 22) at 1pm; closing date not published
  • Christmas season: Opening day, the Sunday before Thanksgiving (November 22) · Opens at 1pm; Blessing of the Trees at 2pm; Santa and Mrs. Claus at 3pm
  • Christmas season: Monday–Thursday · The farm’s page prints 3:30am–5:30pm, apparently a typing error; a state directory entry lists 1pm–5:30pm; confirm the opening time
  • Christmas season: Friday · The farm’s page lists 10am–5:30pm; a state directory entry lists 1pm–5:30pm, with Black Friday 10am–5:30pm
  • Christmas season: Saturday · 10am–5:30pm
  • Christmas season: Sunday · 1pm–5:30pm
  • Christmas season: Closing date, Thanksgiving Day hours and weather closures · Not published
  • Christmas season: Little t-Train ride · Weekends only, per a state agriculture directory entry; the farm gives no times or fee
  • Hours are from the farm’s home page, which prints no year, compared with an undated state agriculture directory entry.
  • The farm’s home page gives the opening as the Sunday before Thanksgiving at 1pm, which is November 22 this year, though it prints no calendar date. It lists Monday–Thursday 3:30am–5:30pm, which looks like a typing error, Friday–Saturday 10am–5:30pm and Sunday 1pm–5:30pm. A state agriculture directory entry lists Sunday–Friday 1pm–5:30pm and Saturday and Black Friday 10am–5:30pm, and says to contact the farm for specific dates. Confirm the weekday opening time before you drive. The farm does not publish a closing date, Thanksgiving Day hours or a weather rule.

Nearby · outside Monetta

Selected nearby farms outside Monetta: tree choices, published price examples, cutting, handling and visit arrangements.
CompareCedar Ridge Tree FarmGilbert, South Carolina · nearbyHollow Creek Tree FarmGilbert, South Carolina · nearby
Trees & sizesCut your own; Pre-cut trees
  • Species: Deodar Cedar, Virginia Pine, White Pine, Carolina Sapphire, Eastern Red Cedar, Leyland Cypress, Fraser fir (pre-cut).
  • You can cut your own from trees grown fresh on the farm, or have one of the farm’s lumberjacks cut it for you, and you can choose a pre-cut Fraser fir that the farm says is delivered fresh each week from North Carolina.
  • The farm’s trees page describes seven varieties: Deodar cedar, Virginia pine, white pine, Carolina Sapphire, Eastern red cedar, Leyland cypress and the pre-cut Fraser fir.
  • The farm says the field offers tall, slender and full trees, and perhaps even a Charlie Brown tree, but it does not publish heights or a price for any of them, and it does not say which varieties are in the fields this season.
Cut your own; Pre-cut trees
  • Species: Leyland Cypress, Jingles Cypress, Murray Cypress, Carolina Sapphire, Blue Ice Cypress, Virginia Pine, Thuja Green Giant, Deodar Cedar, Eastern Red Cedar, Hollow Creek Slims, Fraser fir (fresh-cut).
  • Every tree in the field is priced individually with a tag, and the farm’s one firm rule is not to cut a tree that has no tag, because those are future trees kept for the harvest rotation.
  • Premium fresh-cut Fraser fir is sold alongside, and the farm’s blue spruce page lists a fresh-cut spruce that its supplier cuts late.
  • It does not mention saws or carts, does not publish heights for each variety, and does not say which varieties are in the fields this season, so ask when you arrive.
Published price examplePre-cut Fraser fir: Not published
  • Not published; confirm at the farm.
  • The farm’s site does not state payment methods.
  • Other published price details: The farm publishes no tree price, size range or price list on any page. Confirm the price at the farm before you cut.
Premium fresh-cut firs, 6 ft–7 1/2 ft: $88–$148
  • Per tree; sold alongside the field trees.
  • The farm’s price page does not state payment methods or sales tax.
  • Other published price details: Field trees are $58–$98 at 6 ft–8 ft and $108–$198 at 9 ft–12 ft. Premium fresh-cut firs are $88–$148 at 6 ft–7 1/2 ft and $145–$288 at 8 ft–10 ft. Each tree is individually tagged. The farm’s price page does not mention shaking, baling, drilling or cutting fees, sales tax or payment methods.
Cutting helpCut your own
  • The farm describes a quaint, boutique-style tree farm where you walk the field, pick your tree and cut it with a saw the farm provides, and measuring sticks are on hand to check a tree’s height. If you would rather not saw, one of the farm’s lumberjacks will cut the tree for you.
  • You-cut trees in six varieties plus pre-cut Fraser fir delivered weekly from North Carolina; saws and measuring sticks are provided.
  • Staff cut on request, then shake, net, drill and load; charges are not published.
Cut your own
  • At Hollow Creek you walk the fields, find a tree you like and read its tag. Each tree is priced individually, so two trees of the same height can be priced differently. The farm asks that you never cut a tree without a price tag; untagged trees are future trees kept to maintain a steady harvest.
  • Choose-and-cut trees run from 6 ft–8 ft at $58–$98 to 9 ft–12 ft at $108–$198. The farm says its staff will cut your tree if you prefer. It does not mention saws, carts or wagons for the field, so ask on arrival if you want to cut it yourself.
  • The farm’s home page calls service its specialty. Staff, whom the farm calls its tree wranglers and who are mostly seasonal young workers, cut your tree if you like, then transport it, shake it, bale it and carry it out to your vehicle. The farm’s About page describes the crew cutting, baling, lifting, shaking, drilling, hammering, carrying and loading.
  • Staff cut on request, then shake, bale and carry your tree to your vehicle; charges for these services are not published.
Shaking, baling & loadingCutting, shaking, netting and drilling: Not published · The farm does not say whether these services carry a charge.
  • Once your tree is cut, the farm says one of its lumberjacks takes it to the baling shed to shake away loose needles and leaves and net it for easy transport. If your tree stand needs a hole drilled in the trunk, the farm offers that service too, and the farm’s trees page says staff will shake, bale, load and securely fasten the tree to your vehicle.
  • The farm does not publish a charge for cutting, shaking, netting, drilling or loading, so ask whether anything is added to the tree’s price.
  • The farm’s pages show other fields that serve as backdrops in other seasons: sunflowers and zinnias in June and July, wildflowers in spring, and in fall a pumpkin patch, pumpkin decorations, hay bales, corn, cotton and tall grasses. These are not part of a Christmas tree visit.
  • Staff cut on request, then shake, net, drill and load; charges are not published.
  • The farm’s site does not state payment methods.
Wreaths, bows, ornaments, cutting, baling, drilling and carrying: Not published · The farm lists these without prices; confirm at the farm.
  • These are the ranges on the farm’s price page. The page says every tree is individually tagged in the field, so the tag is the price you pay. It does not mention sales tax, payment methods, or fees for cutting, baling or drilling.
  • The farm’s home page calls service its specialty. Staff, whom the farm calls its tree wranglers and who are mostly seasonal young workers, cut your tree if you like, then transport it, shake it, bale it and carry it out to your vehicle. The farm’s About page describes the crew cutting, baling, lifting, shaking, drilling, hammering, carrying and loading.
  • Staff also drill the trunk for pin or rebar stands. The farm does not publish a charge for any of these services and the price page lists none, so confirm whether anything is added to the tagged price.
  • The farm sells tree stands, with prices on its tree-stand page. It says it is phasing out the pin and rebar stands, though staff still drill trunks for them.
  • Staff cut on request, then shake, bale and carry your tree to your vehicle; charges for these services are not published.
  • The farm’s price page does not state payment methods or sales tax.
Visit arrangementsThis season’s dates are not published; the schedule still posted is for the previous season, which opened the Saturday before Thanksgiving week and closed the second Sunday of December
  • Previous season’s posted schedule (a guide; confirm this season’s dates): Opening day, a Saturday, the Saturday before Thanksgiving week · 9am–5pm
  • Previous season’s posted schedule (a guide; confirm this season’s dates): Monday–Thursday · 1pm–5pm
  • Previous season’s posted schedule (a guide; confirm this season’s dates): Friday and Saturday · 9am–5pm
  • Previous season’s posted schedule (a guide; confirm this season’s dates): Sunday · 1pm–5pm
  • Previous season’s posted schedule (a guide; confirm this season’s dates): Thanksgiving Day · 1pm–5pm
  • Previous season’s posted schedule (a guide; confirm this season’s dates): Black Friday · 9am–5pm
  • Previous season’s posted schedule (a guide; confirm this season’s dates): Closing day, the second Sunday of December · Last day of that season
  • Previous season’s posted schedule (a guide; confirm this season’s dates): Pictures with Santa · One Saturday morning in early December, 10am–12pm, in the previous season; this season’s date is not published
  • Previous season’s posted schedule (a guide; confirm this season’s dates): Photography sessions · By appointment, year-round
  • Previous season’s posted schedule (a guide; confirm this season’s dates): This season’s dates, weather rule, last-cut time · Not published
  • These rows describe the schedule the farm posted for its previous season and are not confirmed for this one.
  • The farm’s contact page still shows the schedule for its previous season, not the coming one, and the pattern below is shown only as a guide. The farm has not published this season’s opening day, closing day, weather rule or last-cut time, so call, text or message the farm before you drive.
Opens Sunday, November 22 at 1pm; last day Wednesday, December 16
  • Christmas season: Opening day, Sunday, November 22 · Opens at 1pm
  • Christmas season: Sunday–Thursday · 1pm–5:30pm
  • Christmas season: Friday and Saturday · 9am–5:30pm
  • Christmas season: Thanksgiving Day, Thursday, November 26 · 1pm–5pm
  • Christmas season: Last day, Wednesday, December 16 · Not listed separately
  • Christmas season: Free hot chocolate and coffee · Offered during open hours; the farm says hot chocolate is available every open day
  • Christmas season: Free hayrides · Weekends; times not published
  • Christmas season: Weather closures and last-cut time · Not published
  • These dates and hours are the ones on the farm’s home page for the current season.
  • The farm’s home page gives the opening day, the last day and these hours. The farm does not publish a weather rule or a cutoff time for the last cut; call before a late-season trip.

Offers vary by species, size and format. Confirm prices, stock and opening details before visiting; ask about unlisted handling charges.

Analytics

Analytics is off until your choice is ready.

Analytics is on by default. Your choice is remembered for up to six months.

Turning it off clears pending events across this site's tabs. Events already sent cannot be recalled. Turning it back on starts a fresh journey.

What analytics records

Owner QA

Analytics is paused while this setting is open.