Christmas tree farm guide · California

Christmas tree farms in Los Gatos & nearby.

2 farms in Los Gatos2 nearby options within 25 miles

In Los Gatos

2 farms listed

Young Christmas trees planted in rows on a Santa Cruz Mountains hillside under a blue sky.

Los Gatos · California

Patchen California Christmas Tree & Pumpkin Farm

Choose-and-cut trees up to 25 feet at two Los Gatos mountain farms, opening Saturday, November 21: saws, baling and car tie-down provided, a 1955 red truck for photos, wreaths and delivery.

Tree options: Cut your own

Choose-and-cut tree in the field
Not published
Tree season
Opens Saturday, November 21, at both the Rancho and Old Town farms
Visit hours
Rancho: Tuesday–Friday 1pm–5pm, Saturday and Sunday 9am–5pm, closed Monday; Old Town: Saturday and Sunday 9am–5pm; both also open Black Friday, November 27

The farm posts no field price list for choose-and-cut trees. Its online shop prices ($105–$400) are for trees ordered for farm pickup or delivery and are not field prices. Confirm the price at the farm.

View farm details
Rows of young firs on the hillside at Four Winds Christmas Trees with wooded Santa Cruz Mountains ridges beyond

Los Gatos · California

Four Winds Christmas Trees

Choose-and-cut on 60 acres in the Santa Cruz Mountains: any tree, any size, $90 with tax included, up to 16 feet. Open from Thanksgiving Day to Christmas Day; saws provided, free netting and twine.

Tree options: Cut your own

Any tree, any size
$90
Tree season
Thanksgiving Day through Christmas Day
Visit hours
Weekends and the Friday after Thanksgiving 8:30am–4pm; weekdays and Thanksgiving Day 11am–3pm; other times by appointment

Tax included, trees up to 16 feet and some bigger. Saws are provided and returned at the checkout booth; netting and twine are free.

View farm details

A little farther afield

More tree farms near Los Gatos

2 nearby farms

These farms are outside this city’s listings, ordered from closer to farther away. Distances are approximate straight-line miles from a reference point in Los Gatos; road distances vary.

About 13 miles away · Santa Cruz, California

Rows of young Christmas trees on a hillside at Crest Ranch under a clear blue sky.

Santa Cruz · California

Crest Ranch Tree Farm

California’s oldest choose-and-cut farm by its own account, high on Ben Lomond Mountain: open November 21 to 29 including Thanksgiving, with free saws, netting and twine and trees from $75.

Tree options: Cut your own & Pre-cut

Choose-and-cut tree, 5-foot minimum
$75–$85 to 5 feet
Tree season
Saturday, November 21 through Sunday, November 29; limited fields open December 5 and 6; while supplies last
Visit hours
8:30am–4:30pm; Thanksgiving Day 10am–3pm

Prices are based on a 5-foot minimum tree and include sales tax. Monterey pine is $75 at any size; Douglas fir, sequoia, pines, cedar and cypress are $75 to 5 feet plus $5 per additional half foot; white and Greek fir are $85 to 5 feet plus $7 per additional half foot. Cash or check with ID only.

View farm details

About 21 miles away · San Martin, California

Giant inflatable Santa waving over rows of young Christmas trees at Battaglia Ranch Christmas Tree Farm in San Martin

San Martin · California

Battaglia Ranch Christmas Tree Farm

Choose-and-cut Monterey pine and cypress plus pre-cut Oregon firs and custom flocking, open November 21 to December 23 near US 101 in San Martin. Tree prices are not published.

Tree options: Cut your own & Pre-cut

Tree prices
Not published
Tree season
November 21 to December 23, closed Thanksgiving Day
Visit hours
November 21–25 9am–5pm; November 27 to December 20 9am–7pm; December 21–23 10am–5pm; closed Thanksgiving Day; choose-and-cut lot closes at dusk

The choose-and-cut page shows a banner reading All Choose & Cut Trees with no price, and no page lists prices for pre-cut trees, flocking, shaking, netting, wreaths or gifts.

View farm details

Compare tree farms

In Los Gatos

Selected farms in Los Gatos: tree choices, published price examples, cutting, handling and visit arrangements.
CompareFour Winds Christmas TreesLos Gatos, California · in townPatchen California Christmas Tree & Pumpkin FarmLos Gatos, California · in town
Trees & sizesCut your own
  • Species: Douglas fir, White fir, Grand fir, Spruce, Blue spruce, Silvertip fir, Noble fir, Sequoia.
  • Four Winds sells every tree at one price, $90 with tax included, whatever the species or height.
  • Trees run up to 16 feet and some are bigger.
  • The farm does not post sizes or availability by species.
Cut your own
  • Species: Monterey pine, Douglas fir, Sierra redwood, Coast redwood, Monterey cypress, Leyland cypress, Incense cedar, Deodar, White fir.
  • The farm advertises eight varieties and sizes up to 25 feet.
  • Tall trees of 10 to 20 feet are available for homes and commercial buildings, and the farm asks you to contact it about anything over 20 feet.
Published price exampleAny choose-and-cut tree, any size, up to 16 feet and some bigger: $90
  • Tax included; the farm lists the same price for every species and size.
  • The home page lists cash, check, Venmo, PayPal and Zelle; the tree-types page still says cash or check only, so bring cash or a check to be safe.
  • Other published price details: Tax included, trees up to 16 feet and some bigger. Saws are provided and returned at the checkout booth; netting and twine are free.
Online shop tree, under 7 feet: $105–$135
  • By type; online order for farm pickup or delivery, not a field price. Tax and delivery are extra.
  • The farm encourages cash and also accepts credit and debit cards, Apple Pay and checks. Online shop prices exclude tax and delivery.
  • Other published price details: The farm posts no field price list for choose-and-cut trees. Its online shop prices ($105–$400) are for trees ordered for farm pickup or delivery and are not field prices. Confirm the price at the farm.
Cutting helpCut your own
  • Saws are available for pickup at the checkout booth when you come in. Cut the trunk above the lower branches, leaving at least five or six branches the size of your thumb so the tree can regrow. When your tree is secured, return to the checkout booth to return your saw and pay.
Cut your own
  • Dogs are welcome on a leash. No chainsaws.
Shaking, baling & loadingSaw, tree netting and twine: Netting and twine free · The farm provides the saw and asks you to return it at the checkout booth when you pay; netting is self-serve at the stations; twine is in orange buckets in each parking lot.
  • Saws are available for pickup at the checkout booth when you come in. Cut the trunk above the lower branches, leaving at least five or six branches the size of your thumb so the tree can regrow. When your tree is secured, return to the checkout booth to return your saw and pay.
  • Netting is free and self-serve at the stations by the picnic area next to the main lot and snack bar. Use the red station for trees up to 8 feet and the green station for larger ones: lay the tree on the table with the stump in the baler, pull it through, and cut the netting with the scissors tied to the baler. Ask at the snack bar if you need help. Free twine is in orange buckets in each parking lot.
  • The home page lists cash, check, Venmo, PayPal and Zelle; the tree-types page still says cash or check only, so bring cash or a check to be safe.
Saw, baling and car tie-down: Provided · The farm provides the saw, baling and tie-down; staff will help find, cut and carry a tree. No chainsaws.
  • The farm encourages cash and also accepts credit and debit cards, Apple Pay and checks. Online shop prices exclude tax and delivery.
Visit arrangementsThanksgiving Day through Christmas Day
  • Christmas season: Photographer open house, Saturday and Sunday, November 14 and 15 · 9am–5pm; free, no RSVP; no restrooms that weekend
  • Christmas season: Thanksgiving Day, Thursday, November 26 · 11am–3pm
  • Christmas season: Friday after Thanksgiving, November 27, and weekends · 8:30am–4pm
  • Christmas season: Weekdays · 11am–3pm
  • Christmas season: Through Christmas Day, Friday, December 25 · No restrooms after Sunday, December 20
  • Christmas season: Other times · By appointment; email the farm
  • The farm says the busiest times are 11am to 2pm on weekends; the main lot fills fast then and cars are directed to Lower Lot B.
  • Cutting starts on Thanksgiving Day, Thursday, November 26, and the farm says it will be open through Christmas Day. The farm expects to be very busy this season; its busiest times are 11am to 2pm on weekends, so it suggests coming early or midweek. The farm lists no rain closure rule, and its side roads are slippery in rain.
  • For day-of questions the farm’s map page says to text Greg at 408-464-2707. For appointments outside the posted hours, email the farm. The home page lists cash, check, Venmo, PayPal and Zelle; the tree-types page says cash or check only.
  • The farm’s email, for appointments, is glahann@yahoo.com.
Opens Saturday, November 21, at both the Rancho and Old Town farms
  • Christmas season: Photo Days at the Old Town farm, November 6 through November 17 · 9am–6pm; full access to the farm and the vintage 1955 Chevy; the red truck then moves to the Rancho farm on November 17
  • Christmas season: Opening day, Saturday, November 21, both farms · 9am–5pm
  • Christmas season: Visit with Santa, Saturday, November 21, Old Town farm · 1pm–3pm; described as a chance for tree customers to visit with Santa during their visit
  • Christmas season: Rancho farm, regular tree season · Tuesday–Friday 1pm–5pm; Saturday and Sunday 9am–5pm; closed Monday; open Black Friday, November 27
  • Christmas season: Old Town farm, regular tree season · Saturday and Sunday 9am–5pm; closed Monday through Friday; open Black Friday, November 27
  • Gates shut 15 minutes before closing. The farm’s calendar lists only the November events above; later Santa dates are not published. Preseason tree-cutting appointments before opening day are available by website message.
  • Both farms open for the tree season on Saturday, November 21, and both are open on Black Friday, November 27. Gates shut 15 minutes before closing. The farm says you do not need to call before coming and to ignore hours shown on third-party listings. The calendar shows only November events, so December Santa dates are not published.
  • Preseason cutting appointments are available before opening day; use the contact form on the farm’s website to schedule.

Nearby · outside Los Gatos

Selected nearby farms outside Los Gatos: tree choices, published price examples, cutting, handling and visit arrangements.
CompareBattaglia Ranch Christmas Tree FarmSan Martin, California · nearbyCrest Ranch Tree FarmSanta Cruz, California · nearby
Trees & sizesCut your own; Pre-cut trees
  • Species: Monterey pine, Leyland cypress, Monterey cypress, Noble fir, Nordmann fir, Douglas fir, Fraser fir, Grand fir.
  • The firs are pre-cut and come from the farm’s Oregon fields: Noble, Nordmann, Douglas and Fraser, with Grand fir also named on the about page.
  • The farm does not publish tree sizes, a height limit, how a choose-and-cut tree is tagged or cut, or whether saws are provided, so ask when you arrive.
Cut your own; Pre-cut trees
  • Species: Monterey pine, Douglas fir, Sierra redwood (giant sequoia), Atlantic cedar, Cypress, White fir, Greek fir.
  • The price page names Monterey pine, Douglas fir, Sierra redwood (the giant sequoia, or bigtree), Atlantic cedar, cypress, white fir and Greek fir, and the farm says other types, among them Nordmann and Turkish fir, coastal redwood, Noble fir, Norway and blue spruce, are limited.
  • After the fire, the north and east fields were replanted and trees need five to ten years to reach cutting size, so stock varies and the farm sells only while supplies last.
Published price exampleChoose-and-cut Monterey pine, Leyland cypress and Monterey cypress: Not published
  • Confirm at the farm; the farm posts no tree sizes or height limits for this lot.
  • The farm’s payment graphic shows Visa, Mastercard and cash; it does not show other cards. The farm mentions no admission or parking charge.
  • Other published price details: The choose-and-cut page shows a banner reading All Choose & Cut Trees with no price, and no page lists prices for pre-cut trees, flocking, shaking, netting, wreaths or gifts.
Monterey pine special, any size: $75
  • Shown as a special on the farm’s price page. The farm’s blog explains it as a first crop from fields recovering after the fire, with part of the field sectioned off, so confirm it still applies when you arrive.
  • Payment is cash or check with ID. The farm does not take credit cards, and an ATM is available. The price page is not dated, and whether these rates apply unchanged this season is not stated, so confirm at the farm.
  • Other published price details: Prices are based on a 5-foot minimum tree and include sales tax. Monterey pine is $75 at any size; Douglas fir, sequoia, pines, cedar and cypress are $75 to 5 feet plus $5 per additional half foot; white and Greek fir are $85 to 5 feet plus $7 per additional half foot. Cash or check with ID only.
Cutting helpCut your ownCut your own
  • Staff direct you where to park and where to find the office. Saws are always free to use and are kept near the office and register, and tree carts are available. Staff can point you to a type or size. Cut just above the bottom greenery with the saw perpendicular to the trunk, leaving enough trunk to fit your tree stand and some greenery on the stump so it regrows.
  • Bring the tree back to the office to be measured and paid for; netting and twine are free; snip the netting off at home once the tree is in its stand, and the farm suggests recycling it in a milk jug. At home, trim a half inch off the trunk and water daily. For trees under 5 feet, tabletop trees already on a stand are available. The farm does not publish a chainsaw rule, parking size or parking fee.
Shaking, baling & loadingTree shaking, netting, flame retarding and tree stands: Not published · Listed as services on the about page with no charges stated.
  • Color-enhanced trees carry a color spray that the farm says adds no mass or volume, in a very limited supply of royal blue, white, purple, pink, black and teal. The flocking page’s separate color list belongs to an earlier season, so ask which colors are on hand. The farm also lists flame retarding, tree shaking, tree netting and water tree stands among its services, without charges.
  • The farm’s payment graphic shows Visa, Mastercard and cash; it does not show other cards. The farm mentions no admission or parking charge.
Saws, tree netting and twine: Free · Saws are always free to use; netting and twine are free.
  • Bring the tree back to the office to be measured and paid for; netting and twine are free; snip the netting off at home once the tree is in its stand, and the farm suggests recycling it in a milk jug. At home, trim a half inch off the trunk and water daily. For trees under 5 feet, tabletop trees already on a stand are available. The farm does not publish a chainsaw rule, parking size or parking fee.
  • Payment is cash or check with ID. The farm does not take credit cards, and an ATM is available. The price page is not dated, and whether these rates apply unchanged this season is not stated, so confirm at the farm.
Visit arrangementsNovember 21 to December 23, closed Thanksgiving Day
  • Christmas season: Saturday, November 21 to Wednesday, November 25 · 9am–5pm
  • Christmas season: Thanksgiving Day, Thursday, November 26 · Closed
  • Christmas season: Friday, November 27 to Sunday, December 20 · 9am–7pm; the choose-and-cut lot closes daily at dusk
  • Christmas season: Monday, December 21 to Wednesday, December 23 · 10am–5pm; December 23 is the last open day
  • Christmas season: Christmas Craft Fair, Saturday and Sunday, November 21 and 22 · Visitor hours are not posted
  • Christmas season: Train ride, reindeer ride and Santa visits · No dates are posted for this season; confirm with the farm
  • The farm posts no rain or closure policy.
  • The farm’s schedule runs from Saturday, November 21 to Wednesday, December 23, which it calls the last open day of the season, and closes only on Thanksgiving Day. The choose-and-cut page says that lot closes daily at dusk, which comes earlier than 7pm in December, so plan to choose a tree in daylight even when the schedule shows a later close.
Saturday, November 21 through Sunday, November 29; limited fields open December 5 and 6; while supplies last
  • Christmas season: Saturday, November 21 through Sunday, November 29, except Thanksgiving · 8:30am–4:30pm, while supplies last
  • Christmas season: Thanksgiving Day, Thursday, November 26 · 10am–3pm
  • Christmas season: Saturday and Sunday, December 5 and 6 · Limited fields open; hours not posted
  • The fields are not lit after sunset, and the sun sets at 5pm. The farm’s page says some pictured varieties are unavailable while fields regrow after the CZU Lightning Complex fire.
  • The farm’s home page lists cutting from Saturday, November 21 through Sunday, November 29, 8:30am to 4:30pm, with Thanksgiving Day open 10am to 3pm, while supplies last. Limited fields open December 5 and 6; hours for those two days are not posted. The farm’s FAQ gives an 8am start, so the home page’s later 8:30am opening is the safer time. The fields are not lit, and the sun sets at 5pm.

Offers vary by species, size and format. Confirm prices, stock and opening details before visiting; ask about unlisted handling charges.

Analytics

Analytics is off until your choice is ready.

Analytics is on by default. Your choice is remembered for up to six months.

Turning it off clears pending events across this site's tabs. Events already sent cannot be recalled. Turning it back on starts a fresh journey.

What analytics records

Owner QA

Analytics is paused while this setting is open.